
 

 

1915(c) Home and Community Based Services Waivers 
 

 

Comprehensive Waiver for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities 

 

Approval Date:  06/17/2019 

Effective Date:  07/01/2019 

End Date:          06/30/2023 
 

The approved amendment: 

 

1. Transitions waiver providers from hourly to daily invoicing for the following congregate 

services:  Supported Employment – Small Group, Residential Habilitation, Day Supports 

and Activities, and Retirement services.   

 

2. Recalculates rate estimates for Waiver Years two through five based on rate changes 

approved by the Montana Legislature and based on changes as noted above.   

 

3. Transitions waiver invoicing into the Medicaid Management Information System 

(MMIS).   

 

4. Makes minor language changes from “personal goals” to “assessed needs.” 

 

5. Corrects confidence intervals from 5% to 95%. 

 

 

Children’s Autism Waiver 

 

End Date:  06/30/2019 

 

The final two enrollees were exited from the Children’s Autism Waiver effective 06/30/2019 

after reaching their capped length of service, three years.  This waiver will be terminated 

effective 06/30/2019. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

Big Sky Waiver for the Elderly and Adults with Physical Disabilities  

 

Approval Date:  02/11/2019 

Effective Date:  02/11/2019 

End Date:          06/30/2020 

 

And 

 

Behavioral Health Waiver for Individuals with Severe Disabling Mental Illness 

 

Approval Date:  02/08/2019 

Effective Date:  02/11/2019 

End Date:          06/30/2020 

 

DPHHS determined an increase to the Private Duty Nursing (PDN) fees is necessary to serve 

high-needs Montana Medicaid members in the least costly setting. According to the Montana 

Medicaid 2017 Access Monitoring Plan, one PDN provider withdrew as a Medicaid provider 

between state fiscal years 2016 and 2017, leaving four providers available to serve Montana's 

Medicaid population. In 2018, one of the four remaining providers notified the Department that it 

could no longer provide PDN at the reimbursement rate currently paid by the Medicaid program 

and that it would discontinue services within three months. 

 

In response, DPHHS analyzed the Medicaid population served, the number of PDN agencies 

across the state, the existing labor market for nurses, the cost of providing PDN benefits to 

Medicaid members, and the higher level of care costs avoided by providing the PDN benefit. 

 

The approved amendment: 

 

1. Reimburses PDN providers at the rates of $8.95 per 15 minutes of care by a licensed 

practical nurse (LPN), $11.28 per 15 minutes by a registered nurse (RN) and $15.31 per 

15 minutes of care by a registered nurse (RN) supervisor. The rates are currently $7.38 

for LPN services, $8.69 for RN services and $11.79 for RN Supervision services. 

 

The PDN rate calculation included the following steps: 1) determining the number of 

PDN providers across the state and how the number of providers impacts access; 2) 

reviewing entry-level nursing salaries in a cross-cutting sample of hospitals across the 

state; 3) estimating the employment and provider agency costs in addition to salaries; and 

4) calculating  a rate that would reasonably cover employing nurses at a minimally 

competitive entry salary level. 


