
Greg Gianforte, Governor 

Adam Meier, Director

Department of Public Health and Human Services 
Quality Assurance Division ♦ 2401 Colonial Drive, 2nd Floor ♦ Helena, MT  59602-2953 ♦ fax: 444-1742 

 Dear Prospective Assisted Living Facility Provider: 

This letter is in response to a request for information regarding a change of ownership of an 
existing Assisted Living Facility. Assisted Living Facilities are required to be licensed by the State 
of Montana. The rules and regulations that pertain to Assisted Living can be found at 
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/Subchapterhome.asp?scn=37%2E106.28 under the “Statutes 
and Rules governing Assisted Living” tab.  

In order to change ownership of a facility, please submit the following: 

A letter of Intent to Sell, with projected date of sale included.  

A letter of Intent to Purchase, with projected date of purchase included. 

Indicate if the current policies and procedures governing the current facility are to be used by 
the new owner, or if new ones are being written. New policies and procedures must be 
submitted to the Department at least forty-five (45) days prior to the expected change of 
ownership for review and approval.  

If the facility uses well water, please submit a copy of a Certified Laboratory Report of the well 
water for potability conducted within the last six months. Please contact your local County 
Health Department for assistance.  

If the facility is not on a city sewer system, please submit a copy of the local county health 
department septic system inspection. As a septic system is approved based on the number of 
bedrooms in a facility, the septic system inspection report must reflect the number of 
bedrooms (please note – number of bedrooms, not number of residents) in the facility applied 
for.  

A fire inspection report from the State Fire Marshall conducted within the last six months. 

A description of the type of security system / locks used to secure the facility.  

A description of any structural changes to be made, accompanied by a copy of floor plans for 
the changes proposed. Floor plans can be hand drawn as long as dimensions are included, 
documenting the size of all rooms and spaces utilized by the residents. If the bedroom has any 
built in obstruction (i.e. a closet or bookcase) measurements are made from the front of the 
closet door / bookcase to the opposite wall. Door swing areas are not included in the available 
square footage of the room.  

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/Subchapterhome.asp?scn=37%2E106.28


Submit documentation that the facility administrator has either: 

 Successfully complete the self-study Senior Living University’s Administrator Level 1
certification. Senior Living University may be accessed at
http://www.seniorlivingu.com.

 Is enrolled in the self-study Senior Living University’s Administrator Level 1
certification (this certification must be completed within six (6) months of the
start of assuming administrator duties within the facility).

 A current nursing home administrator’s certification, either in Montana or from
another state.

Upon submission and approval of all of the aforementioned, the Licensure Bureau will issue a 
six (6) months provisional license. A facility may not accept or retain residences without a 
current license. During the provisional license period, a Health Care Facility surveyor will 
conduct an on-site visit to assess compliance with Assisted Living regulations. This visit is also an 
opportunity for you and the assisted living staff to obtain any needed clarification on rules and 
statutes.  

If you have any further questions or need assistance during the change of ownership process, 
you may contact the Licensure Bureau at 406- 444- 2676.  

Sincerely, 

Carter Anderson,
Quality Assurance Division Administrator, DPHHS




