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This fall, staff from the Early Childhood Services Bureau and the Child Care Licensing Program
traveled across the state to meet with communities and inform them about the Child Care and
Development Fund State Plan, and what it means to Montana. Because the plan is still being written and
will be subject to public comment, no decisions are finalized. Therefore this document is an attempt to
recap the discussions and frequently asked questions received at the forums and from providers around
the state.

» The following chart shows the schedule of community forum visits:

City Date City Date
Bozeman 11/9/2015 Billings 11/17/2015
Great Falls 11/12/2015 Missoula 11/23/2015
Miles City 11/16/2015 Helena* 12/1/2015

» The Helena forum provided a WebEXx for state-wide participation. Communities that participated

include:

+ Billings, Bozeman, Butte, Glasgow, Great Falls, Havre, Kalispell, Lewistown, Malta, Miles

City, Missoula, Plentywood, Sidney
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* Community Forum Location

Participation via WebEx




Overview of Community Forum Questions

Each Forum was well attended; total attendance was over 1,000 interested providers and other Early
Childhood Professionals. State staff presented an overview of the CCDF Reauthorization Act and then a
question and answer period followed. Discussion was informative and valuable as the State heard
suggestions and input, as well as questions about the CCDF Law and how Montana would address the
requirements. An overview of the most frequently asked questions are listed below. Some answers are
also included in this list, and other decisions are yet to be made based on input received through the
Community Forums and CCDF Work Groups. The State staff appreciates the interest and response to
the Community Forums.

FAQ'S :

Background CheCkS..........c.ouuiii s 2
Best Beginnings Child Care Scholarship Program.............ccccoeiiiiiiiiie, 3
LACEIISIIIZ .ottt 3
QUALIEY .t 6
TTAINIIG . 6

Background Checks

1. Will the providers have to pay for background checks? For all employees?
Yes. Providers will be expected to pay for the fingerprint background checks. The CPS, DMV and
state level criminal history checks will have no cost associated.

The new Reauthorization law requires that the background checks be conducted for “anyone having
direct access to the children in care.” Therefore, the department has determined this would apply to
all employees of the child care center, and to all adults or any person who regularly or frequently
stays in a facility for family and group day care homes.

The new comprehensive FBI fingerprint background checks for new providers and their staff will be
implemented in September 2016, and full implementation for all child care providers and their staff
in Montana will be implemented in November of 2017.

2. Are all family members included in the background check process?
This will apply to any family member who regularly or frequently stays in the facility and is 18 years
of age or older.

3. Are there changes to the background check process for Legally Certified Providers?
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LCP’s will be subject to the same background check requirements as any other day care provider.

Best Beginnings Child Care Scholarship Program

4. Concerning the 24 absence days/year: if a family misses more than 2 days the first month of
attendance, is the provider out the cost of the third absence or can it be taken from the next
month’s absences?

At this time, the absence days must be accrued. This means that if a family only has 2 days accrued,

but the family misses more than 2 days, the provider will need to make arrangements with the family
for the cost of care for those days.

5. How is homelessness defined?
Homeless means individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence; and

includes:
(@) children and youths who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing,
economic hardship, or a similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping
grounds due to the lack of alternative adequate accommodations; are living in emergency or
transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are awaiting foster care placement;
(b) children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place
not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings;
(c) children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings,
substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings; and
(d) migratory children (as such term is defined in section 1309 of the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act of 1965) who qualify as homeless for the purposes of this subtitle because the
children are living in circumstances described in clauses (a) through (b).

Licensing

6. Are the qualifications for Primary Caregivers changing?
Yes. The department will be adding an additional option to the existing qualification profile. So, in
essence, the proposed rule will read :

“...a primary caregiver must...have the following training and experience (i) two years’
experience in an early childhood program such as a day care center, a family or group day care
home, headstart, early headstart, or another recognized preschool program; or (ii) child
development associate credential; or (iii) a bachelor of arts or an associate degree in education
or related field; or (iv) be at a Level 3 on the Montana professional development career path.”

See for training specifics

7. How will the providers be notified about the changes coming down the line?
As a child care provider in Montana, you will receive a mailing to inform you of the public process
that will be employed to make changes to any administrative rule changes.
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http://www.mtecp.org/

Most of the changes that will be made regarding licensure will involve administrative rule
changes; when this occurs, the department is required to ‘notice’ the public of the changes and
allow for a 30 day public comment period. Providers and interested public members will be
informed of the proposed changes, where to locate the documents, and how to submit comments.
A public hearing is also scheduled and providers and the interested public members can attend
that hearing and share their views.

8. Pre-licensure inspections?
This is one of the new requirements under the CCDF Reauthorization law and must be in place by
September of 2016. This requirement will impact family and group child care facilities and Legally
Certified Providers (LCP); Child Care Centers currently receive a pre-licensure inspection. The
Child Care Licensing Program anticipates beginning these inspections well before the September
2016 implementation date.

9. Are there going to be different areas or degrees of expulsion?
The expulsion policy is still under development; however, it is planned that the broad overview will
require providers to have a policy in place with specific stipulations— such as a provider’s policy
can’t violate the Americans with Disabilities Act. The intention of this policy is to have plans,
procedures, and strategies for addressing challenging behaviors, referring families and/or children to
other services as appropriate, and program wide transition plans to accommodate change.

10. Will it be a longer wait or processing time to have new staff start now that the requirements
are denser?
It is possible that this could happen. However, the department hopes to have processes in place to
avoid any unnecessary delays. We anticipate the main delays occurring is in the submission of
paperwork /required materials, background checks, completion of training, and submission of proof
of completed training.

In order to help providers make sure that processing new staff takes place in a timely manner, we
will make every effort to provide them with the support and information needed to on-board new
staff and meet the licensing requirements.

Additionally, access to CPR and First Aid training is a new requirement that will be required of new
staff. Providers are advised to work with their local Resource and Referral agency to know when
these trainings are being held.

11. Will inspections be unannounced?
Yes. All inspections will be unannounced, as this is shown to be the most effective way to inspect
and monitor child care facilities.

12. How are group sizes defined?
Group size is another new requirement under the CCDF Reauthorization. Group size is defined as

the number of children assigned to a caregiver or a team of caregivers occupying an individual
classroom or well-defined space within a larger room. Group size accompanies the child to staff
ratio.
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The Reauthorization law doesn’t specify what group size has to look like, and leaves that decision to
the respective states. The department researched and examined several best practice documents,
consulted with professionals and other jurisdictions having authority and looked at the capacity for
typical center facilities throughout Montana all while keeping safety and basic developmental needs
for children as the highest priority. In doing so, the department developed the following group size
structure and will be proposing this through the rule making process:

Age Ratio Group Size
0-24 months 1:4 12
2-3 years 1:8 16
4-5 years 1:10 20
6-12 years 1:14 28

Group size for family and group home programs already exist in Montana rule.

13. Is there an effective date yet established for group sizes?
The department has to go through a rule making process in order to make group sizes effective. We

anticipate beginning that process in March 2016 with completion and implementation by September
2016.

14. What considerations have been looked at for after school programs and Primary Caregivers &
Group Size?
The department has been very thoughtful about each of the changes that must be made in order to
comply with the CCDF Reauthorization law. We are proposing a change to the Primary Caregiver
qualifications rule (please see question #1) which has been based, in part, on input and comment
received from providers over the last several years; concerns with group size are addressed in #13,
and the department looks forward to comment from providers during the public comment period
both from the State Plan in January 2016 and during the administrative rule hearing later this year.
Regarding after school programs, the department has not considered changes to this section of the
rule for approximately 10 years. A recent needs assessment was conducted for school-age care. The
information in this assessment will inform a Best Beginnings workgroup recommendation, which
will advise the department for next steps.

15. How will the state help providers expedite orientation & background checks so centers can
meet child/provider ratios in the event of a staff member leaving suddenly?
The state is developing on-line training opportunities, including new provider orientation sessions so

that such training can be taken as needed to expedite the orientation process and allow providers to
plan for changes in staffing to the best of their ability.

We realize that the CPR and First Aid training is a new requirement for some staff. This will be
offered on at least a monthly basis through Resource and Referral agencies.
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With respect to background checks, the department typically has no control over the length of time
the fingerprint background check process takes; but we are exploring some options with our state
and federal partners. These efforts would increase the efficacy of the process so that provider wait
times are lessened and information received is more tangible.

It is important to note that an employee may work with children — supervised — after the required
paperwork has been submitted and prior to all paperwork being processed.

Quality

16.

17.

18.

Does everyone have to be a member of the STARS program?
No. STARS to Quality is a voluntary program. Montana is required to offer a Quality Rating and

Improvement System to child care providers in the state, but participation is decided by individual
programs.

Is the only way to determine “quality” through STARS?
At this time, the only way to determine ‘quality’ and subsequently invest financial resources into

programs is to use a Quality Rating and Improvement System (QRIS). In Montana, this is called
STARS to Quality. In order to demonstrate improvement in quality indicators, we must use
standardized, reliable, and valid tools to assess programs. For example, one of the tools used in
STARS is the Early Childhood Environmental Rating Scale (ECERS). The ECCRS is a reliable,
valid and standardized tool that was developed through valid research. STARS to Quality programs
use the ECCRS to determine areas of strength and improvement as well as to compare the
improvement in quality from one time period to another. For more information on Environmental
Rating Scales, visit:

http://ers.fpg.unc.edu/

Quality can also be measured through an accreditation process. STAR level 5 in the STARS to
Quality program includes accreditation by either the National Association of Education of Young
Children (NAEYC) or the National Association of Family Child Care (NAFCC). These
accreditation processes also use valid, reliable, and standardized tools to measure quality indicators.

Is the 3% of I/T part of the 9% or addition to?
The 3% that must be used to support Infant/Toddler care is not included in the total 9% that must be
used to support quality, overall.

Training

19.

Staff orientations—staff cannot start without training regardless of their type?
The process for a new caregiver under the new regulations will be proposed as follows:
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A caregiver will attend an orientation prior to caring for children;
Within 30 days of hire and under the supervision of a Primary Caregiver, the new teacher
must complete:
e CPR/First Aid;
e Safe Sleep training;
ePrevention of Shaken Baby Syndrome and abusive head trauma training; and
eLicensing 101 Training (this will be more about the regulations).

Following this segment of training, a new teacher will have an additional 60 days to complete the
following training:

ePrevention and control of infectious diseases;

o Administration of Medication I;

eEmergency Preparedness and disaster response planning;

e Protecting children from harm;

eMandatory Reporting; and

e Bringing Early Success to Providers and child development.

A majority of these training opportunities will be available on line so that providers enabling
providers and caregivers to choose the times that are convenient for their attendance.

20. Will there be a cost associated with training?
There is no way to avoid all costs associated with training. However, the department will prioritize
available funding to develop online courses included in orientation, so that those courses being taken
by all providers are offered at the lowest possible cost.

21. Will college classes count towards training hours?
Yes, those hours are determined by the Montana Early Childhood Project.

22. Why are total hours of training so high?
We set the number of required training hours to reflect best practices as well as to align with
Montana’s early childhood professional development system. It has been shown that increased
training for providers has direct impact on the health, safety and welfare, of the children we serve. It
is with this premier goal that the training for providers is increasing. Additionally, the number of
training hours that providers will be required to have will be phased in over a four-year period as
follows:

2016 to 2017 8 hours
2017 to 2018 16 hours
2018 to 2019 24 hours
2019 to 2020 30 hours
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23.

24,

25.

It is also important to note, that providers currently participating in the Early Childhood Registry
must receive 23 hours of training annually. This means only 7 additional hours per year for many
providers. This Framework for Professional Development, which is run by the MECP, has a total
number of training hour requirements for providers. The total number of hours range from Level
One at 15 hours per year, to Levels Two through Ten at 23 hours of approved training. The
Professional Development Incentive Awards are based on the number of hours and other criteria that
providers achieve for quality Professional Development. There are 1,209 early childhood
professionals current on the Montana Practitioner Registry. We set the number of hours of required
training to reflect best practices as well as align with this key component of Montana’s early
childhood professional development system.

Would there be a possibility that staff will slip through the cracks if they bounce around
facilities?

The Department will work with both Child Care Licensing and the Montana Early childhood Project
to track training for all providers and staff.

Will the 30 hours include CPR & 1% aid?

CPR and 1% aid have always been “pre-requisite’ training for child care providers. The department
does not anticipate changing that. Additionally, the various certifying agencies (Red Cross or
American Heart Association for example) employ different hours for their specific certifications.
Due to this, it would be very difficult to count and track those hours in a consistent manner.

Does support staff have to take training (custodial, cooks, etc.)?

Unless those staff will also have direct caregiving/teaching responsibilities, no, they will not be
subject to the training requirements. They will, as earlier indicated, be subject to the background
check process among other ‘approval’ processes, i.e., submission of a personal statement of health,
proof of immunizations, etc.

January 6, 2016



