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Become a Child Care Provider 
The first step in becoming a child care provider is to determine which type of care 

setting you wish to provide: 

Child Care Center 
A center serves 13 or more children with a staff-to-child ratio based on the age of the 

children.  State law requires child care centers to be licensed by the Department's Child 

Care Licensing Program 

Before school, drop-in, after school and preschool programs are not required to be 

licensed. 

Licensing Staff inspect centers twice a year.  Health and fire officials visit once a year. 

The center director is required to be educated or experienced in early care and 

education.  All caregivers who work 160 hours or more a year are required to attend 8 

hours of annual training.  Center directors are required to attend 15 hours of annual 

training.  Directors and caregivers are also required to have certification in Adult, Child 

and Infant CPR and First Aid. 

Group Home Child Care 
Two adults provide care for 7-12 children, with a limit of six under the age of 2.  Group 

homes must be registered with the Child Care Licensing Program.  Providers must 

complete a self-assessment checklist of health, safety, and childcare program 

regulations.   

New providers must attend a child care orientation session within 60 days of registration. 

Family Home 
A caregiver cares for up to six children at a time with no more than three under the age 

of 2.  Care is offered in a homelike setting, usually in the caregiver's residence.  Family 

child care homes must be registered with the Child Care Licensing Program   

Family, Friend, and Neighbor (FFN) 
In this more informal type of care, a parent or legal guardian selects an individual- often 

a family member, friend, or neighbor to care for all the children in one family or up to 2 

unrelated children.  FFNs must pass Montana and FBI criminal background checks and 

Child Protective Services background checks but are not otherwise regulated or 

monitored by the State of Montana. 

Become a STARS to Quality Provider 
The Best Beginnings STARS to Quality Program is a voluntary quality rating improvement 

system that aligns quality indicators with support and incentives for early childhood 

programs and early childhood professionals. To be a STARS program, you must be 

licensed for at least six months. Programs may apply for Best Beginnings STARS to Quality 

at any time via www.mtecp.org.  

Background Checks 
Background checks are required for child care staff members (including prospective 

staff members) of all licensed/regulated/registered child care providers and all child 

care providers. 

http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/LBCCL.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/LBCCL.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/LBCCL.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/LBCCL.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/BecomeaChildCareProvider/FamilyGroupNewApplicationPacket/FamilyGroupRenewalApplicationPacket/ExtendedFacilityInformation/ChildCareRegulationforInfantChildFacilties.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/BecomeaChildCareProvider/FamilyGroupNewApplicationPacket/FamilyGroupRenewalApplicationPacket/ExtendedFacilityInformation/ChildCareRegulationforInfantChildFacilties.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/LBCCL.aspx
http://dphhs.mt.gov/hcsd/ChildCare/STARS.aspx
http://www.mtecp.org/
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A “child care provider” means: A “child care staff member” means 

A center-based child care provider, 

family child care provider, or another 

provider of child care services for 

compensation on a regular basis that:  

 is not related to all the children 

served; and  

 is licensed, regulated, or registered 

under State law  

 

An individual (other than an individual who 

is related to all children for whom child care 

services are provided):  

 who is employed by a child care 

providers for compensation; or  

 whose activities involve the care or 

supervision of children for a child care 

provider or unsupervised access to 

children; or  

 any individual residing in a family child 

care home age 18 and older.  

 

Background checks include the following: 
1. An FBI fingerprint check  

2. State criminal record check; 

3. Criminal and sex offender registry (for Montana and any other state the 

individual has lived in the last 5 years); 

4. Child protective services check (for Montana and any other sate the individual 

has lived in the last 5 years); and 

5. National sex offender registry check. 

Background Check Fees 
Type of Check Frequency Cost 

Federal Fingerprint Check  Upon hire and every 5 

years  

$27.25 + additional costs for running prints. This cost 

may vary depending on entity conducting 

fingerprints.  

State criminal record 

check  

Upon hire and 

annually thereafter  

Will be conducted and paid by the Department  

Montana Department of 

Motor Vehicles  

Upon hire and 

annually thereafter  

Will be conducted and paid by the Department  

Montana Child Protective 

Services  

Upon hire and 

annually thereafter  

Will be conducted and paid by the Department  

Montana Criminal and Sex 

Offender Registry  

Upon hire and 

annually thereafter  

No costs associated  

National Sex Offender 

Registry  

Upon hire and every 5 

years  

Will be conducted by the Department. At this time it 

is not anticipated that costs will be associated but if 

that changes, the provider would be responsible for 

the costs.  

Criminal and Sex Offender 

Registry check for all states 

the individual has lived in 

over the last 5 years  

Only upon hire unless 

the individual moves 

out of state  

Will be conducted by the Department. At this time it 

is not anticipated that costs will be associated but if 

that changes, the provider would be responsible for 

the costs.  

Out of state Child 

Protective Services Check 

for all states the individual 

has lived in over the last 5 

years  

Only upon hire unless 

the individual moves 

out of state  

Costs may vary from state to state  
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The current costs for an FBI check are $27.25. The costs for other out of state checks are 

unknown and may vary by state. In addition to the checks being conducted every 5 

years, the Department will also conduct annual State criminal, DMV and child 

protective checks. The Department will conduct these checks and cover associated 

costs. 

Will the providers have to pay for background checks for all employees? 
Yes. Providers will be expected to pay for the fingerprint background checks. The CPS, 

DMV and state level criminal history checks will have no cost associated. 

The new Reauthorization law requires that the background checks be conducted for 

“anyone having direct access to the children in care.” Therefore, the department has 

determined this would apply to all employees of the child care center, and to all adults 

or any person who regularly or frequently stays in a facility for family and group day 

care homes. 

The new comprehensive FBI fingerprint background checks for new providers and their 

staff will be implemented in September 2016, and full implementation for all child care 

providers and their staff in Montana will be implemented in November of 2017. 

Are all family members included in the background check process? 
This will apply to any family member who regularly or frequently stays in the facility and 

is 18 years of age or older. 

Are there changes to the background check process for FFNs? 
FFNs will be subject to the same background check requirements as any other day 

care provider. 

What offenses would prevent me from becoming a provider? 
If an individual has a felony drug offense within the last 5 years, they would not be 

approved. Prior to sending the notification, the individual would be made aware of the 

history and be given the opportunity to provide a statement. If they are unable to show 

that the history was incorrect, the licensee/provider would be informed that the 

individual has a disqualifying history that would prohibit approval. The licensee/provider 

would not be able to request an administrative reconsideration because the crime is 

considered an automatic disqualifier. If the conviction was over 5 years, the offense 

could be a disqualifier. In this type of case, the licensee/provider could request an 

administrative reconsideration.  

The Child Care Licensing Program requirements also include the following disqualifiers 

for a felony conviction: assault on an officer, assault with a weapon, prostitution, 

robbery, and burglary. In addition, the following misdemeanor convictions may also 

result in a disqualification: partner/family member assault, endangering the welfare of a 

child, misdemeanor unlawful transaction with children, or a crime involving an abuse of 

the public trust. The Legally Certified Provider requirements would also disqualify the 

provider if they have DUI within the last 3 years. 

What would make a child care staff member ineligible for employment? 
The law specifies disqualifying crimes only for child care providers and staff members.  

Disqualification criteria include: 
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• refuses a background check; 

• knowingly makes a materially false statement in connection with the 

background check; 

• is registered, or is required to be registered, on the State or National Sex Offender 

Registry; 

• has been convicted of a felony consisting of murder; child abuse or neglect; 

crime against children; spousal abuse; crime involving rape or sexual assault; 

kidnapping; arson; physical assault; or a drug-related offense committed during 

the preceding 5 years; or 

• has been convicted of a violent misdemeanor committed as an adult against a 

child. 

Monitoring and Inspections  

What are the monitoring requirements of the new law? 
The law requires that States conduct monitoring visits for all providers, including all 

license exempt providers (except those that serve relatives)), but has different 

monitoring requirements for providers who are licensed and providers who are license-

exempt. 

• For Licensed Providers – States must conduct 1 pre-licensure inspection for 

health, safety, and fire standards and annual, unannounced inspections. 

• For License-Exempt Providers (FFNs, except those serving relatives) – State must 

conduct annual inspections for compliance with health, safety, and fire 

standards. The law does not require that these monitoring visits be 

unannounced, but ACF recommends that States consider unannounced visits for 

license-exempt providers since experience shows they are effective in promoting 

compliance.    

In addition to the new requirements to conduct monitoring visits, States are now 

required to have policies in place to ensure that: 

• Licensing inspectors are qualified and have received training in related health 

and safety requirements; and 

• Ratio of inspectors to providers must be sufficient to ensure visits occur in a timely 

manner. ACF will issue additional guidance on best practices in this area. 

Health and Safety Requirements 

Health and Safety Training 
Montana child care providers must have health and safety training in 10 substantive 

areas: 

1. Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization) 

2. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices 

3. Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent 

4. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions 
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5. Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection 

from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of 

water, and vehicular traffic 

6. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma 

7. Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from 

a natural disaster, or a man-caused event 

8. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio 

contaminants 

9. Precautions in transporting children 

10. First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

 

For a complete list of licensing requirements: 

 Interpretive Guidelines 

 Licensing Regulations 

Provider Training Hour Requirements  
 

1. What are the new orientation training requirements?  

Orientation training is required within 90 days after employment for any provider or 

caregiver/teacher. The following topic areas are required for orientation training: 

1) Prevention and control of infectious diseases  

2) Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleep practices  

3) Administration of medication  

4) Prevention and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions  

5) Building and physical premises safety  

6) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma  

7) Emergency preparedness and response planning  

8) Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the disposal of bio-

contaminants  

9) Appropriate precautions in transporting children, if applicable  

10) Recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect  

11) First Aid  

12) CPR certification  

 

2. Who is required to take the orientation training?  

All new providers and caregivers/teachers including volunteers in a licensed or 

registered program are required to have health and safety training in all of the above 

categories.  After September 1, 2016, all newly hired staff will be required to complete 

the 16 hour health and safety orientation training within 90 days after hire.    

 

3. Where can I obtain the orientation training? 

The orientation trainings will all be available online, with the exception of First Aid and 

CPR.  The website to access the trainings online is www.ChildCareTraining.Org. 

 

4. Does the orientation training count toward annual training requirements? 

Yes.  The 16 hours of health and safety training will fulfill the first year of annual training 

for a new provider or caregiver/teacher. 

http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/LBCCL/Forms-and-Information/interpretiveguidelines
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/Licensure/Become-a-Child-Care-Provider/Family-Group-New-Application-Packet/Family-Group-Renewal-Application-Packet/Extended-Facility-Information/Child-Care-Regulation-for-Infant-Child-Facilties
http://www.childcaretraining.org/
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5. What are the total number of training hours per year for a provider or 

caregiver/teacher as required by licensing? 

Orientation is separate from the ongoing annual training hours, but can count toward 

the first year of required training.  The department has determined, based on public 

input and a review of the requirements of the new law that the draft rule will read:   

FFN (Family, Friend, Neighbor) formerly 

LCP 

8 hours  

Director (Center) 20 hours  

Providers (all types and roles) 16 hours  

 

6. Who do I contact if I have questions? 

Contact your R&R for questions about training. 

 
 

Region 1 

The Nurturing Center  

146 Third Ave West  

Kalispell, MT 59901-4428  

Office: (406) 756-1414  

Toll Free: (800) 204-0644  

Fax: (406) 756-1410  

Region 2 

Child Care Resources  

500 N. Higgins, Suite 202  

Missoula, MT 59807-7038  

Office: (406) 728-6446  

Toll Free: (800) 728-6446  

Fax: (406) 549-1189  

Region 3 

Butte 4 C's  

101 N. Main  

Butte, MT 59701  

Office: (406) 723-4019  

Toll Free: (800) 794-4061  

Fax: (406) 723-6982  

Region 4 

Child Care Connections  

1143 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 1  

Bozeman, Montana 59718  

Office: (406) 587-7786  

Toll Free: (800) 962-0418  

Fax: (406) 587-1682  

Region 5 

Family Connections MT Great Falls  

202 2nd Ave S, Suite 201  

Great Falls, MT 59405  

Office: (406) 761-6010  

Toll Free: (800) 696-4503  

Fax: (406) 453-8976  

Region 6 

Family Connections MT Havre  

2229 5th Ave.  

Havre, MT 59501-5217  

Office: (406) 265-6743  

Toll Free: (800) 696-4503  

Fax: (406) 265-1312  

Region 7 

HRDC District 7  

7 North 31st Street  

Billings, MT 59103-2016  

Office: (406) 247-4732  

Toll Free: (800) 443-1411  

Fax: (406) 869-2585  
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