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Montana Background Check Instructions 
 

It is the responsibility of Day Care Centers to obtain criminal, CPS/APS, and DMV record checks for all 

employees.  Effective September 1, 2006, DMV record checks must be obtained for all employees regardless 

of whether or not transportation is provided.   

 

Childcare Licensing will conduct the required Montana background checks for Day Care Centers that 

currently have an Extended License.  Childcare Licensing will also conduct the required Montana 

background checks for Family and Group Day Cares. 

 

Please follow the directions below to obtain the required background checks. 

 

 Criminal Record Checks: (follow the directions below or go to https://app.mt.gov/choprs/) 

a. A self-addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage must accompany each request. 

b. The cost for obtaining the Criminal Record Checks is $13.00/person.  Checks and money orders 

should be made out to the Montana Criminal Records. 

c. Request information in the form of a letter, on your letterhead, structured as follows: 

DOE, Jane Susan, b/d 12-24-63,  SS# 000-11-2222 

       Maiden Name:  Black, AKA: Smith, etc, etc. if anymore names 

  (Leave a space) 

  NEXT PERSONS INFO, etc. 

d. Mail request to: 

Criminal Records 

ATTN: Records Clerk 

PO Box 201403 

Helena, MT  59620-1403 

 

 CPS Record Checks 

a. Requests can be mailed or faxed to:  

             DPHHS/CFSD 

ATTN:  Records Request 

Old Federal Bldg, 301 S. Park 

P.O. Box 8005 

Helena, MT 59604-8005 

FAX (406) 444-4156 

*Faxed requests need to have a return fax number for the requestor 

 

b. For further information regarding CFSD checks, go to: 
http://dphhs.mt.gov/cfsd/backgroundchecks.shtml 

 

 DMV Record Checks: (follow the directions below or go to https://app.mt.gov/dojdrs/) 

a. Complete the Release of Driving Records form. 

b. A self-addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage must accompany each request or 

additional fees will be added. 

c. The cost for obtaining the Criminal Record Checks is $4.00/person.  Checks and money orders 

should be made out to the Motor Vehicle Division. 

d. Mail request to: 

Motor Vehicle Division 

ATTN: Records Clerk 

PO Box 201430 

Helena, MT  59620-1430 

https://app.mt.gov/choprs/
http://dphhs.mt.gov/cfsd/backgroundchecks.shtml
https://app.mt.gov/dojdrs/
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OUT OF STATE CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECKS 
 

 

ARM 37.95.161(3) states “If the provider, staff member, volunteer, resident of the facility, or any 

person who regularly or frequently stays in the facility, has lived outside of Montana for any 

portion of the previous 5 years, that person must submit a completed fingerprint card so that a 

fingerprint based criminal records check can be requested.”   

 

 

The childcare provider is responsible for all costs associated with obtaining out of state 

background checks!  

 

WESTERN IDENTIFICATION NETWORK CHECK 

 The Western Identification Network Check only works for the following states:   

 Alaska, Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, Utah, Washington, and Nevada 

 Have your fingerprints taken on the enclosed fingerprint card {Contact a local law 

enforcement agency to determine where in your community you can get fingerprinting 

completed} 

 A complete Release of Information for Fingerprints Form 
 $10 check or money order made out to Montana Criminal Records 

 

FBI CHECKS 

 Have your fingerprints taken on the enclosed fingerprint card {Contact a local law 

enforcement agency to determine where in your community you can get fingerprinting 

completed} 

 A complete Release of Information for Fingerprints Form 
 Enclose a check or money order made out to Montana Criminal Records for $27.25 

 

 
 

 

The above information should be sent to: 

 

DPHHS / QAD / CCL 

PO Box 202953 

Helena, MT  59620-2953 

 

 

Phone:   (406) 444-2012 
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TRIBAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
 
Tribal background checks must be conducted for anyone that has lived on a reservation within the last 
5 years.  Please contact the appropriate Tribal Court listed below for instructions about how to conduct 
Tribal Background Checks. 
 
Fort Belknap  

Fort Belknap Tribal Court 
RR1 Box 362 
Harlem, MT  59526 
Phone:  406-353-8387   Fax: 406-353-4875 

 
Rocky Boy 

Chippewa Cree Tribal Court 
RR1 Box 544 
Box Elder, MT  59521 
Phone:  395-4808 ext 2212  Fax:  406-395-5184 

 
Crow Tribal Court (Criminal records are only kept for tribal members.  If you are not a member of the 
Crow Tribe, send a signed statement attesting that you are not a tribal member.) 

Crow Tribal Court 
PO Box 489 
Crow Agency, MT 59022 
Phone: 406-638-7400   Fax:  406-638-7415 

 
Northern Cheyenne Tribal Court 

PO Box 1199 
Lame Deer, MT 59043 
Phone:  406-477-8340 

 
The Blackfeet Nation Tribal Court (Criminal records are only kept for tribal members.  If you are not a 
member of the Blackfeet Nation, send a signed statement to child care licensing stating that you are 
not a tribal member.) 

PO Box 1170 
Browning, MT  59417 
Phone:  406-338-5061   Fax:  406-338-2722 

 
Flathead Tribal Police (Criminal records are only kept for tribal members.  If you are not a member of 
the Salish-Kootenai Tribe, send a signed statement to child care licensing stating that you are not a 
tribal member.) 

P.O. Box 278 
Pablo, MT 59855 
Phone:  406-675-2700 ext. 1102  Fax #:  406-675-4702 

 
Fort Peck Tribal Court 

PO Box 1027 

Poplar, MT 59255 

406-768-2400 
 


