
A FAMILY GU IDE TO 
THE MONTANA CHILD 
WELFARE SYSTEM 
Initial Contacts with CFSD 

WHAT YOU NEED TO 
KNOW ABOUT INITIAL 
INTERACTIONS WITH 
CHILD AND FAMILY  
SERVICES DIVISION 

Child and Family Services Division  
(CFSD) is a state agency that pro-
vides services to the children and 
families of Montana. The mission  
of the Child and Family Services 

 Division is the keep children safe 
and families strong. 



WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT INITIAL 
INTERACTIONS WITH CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES DIVISON 
CFSD is contacting you because a report was made to the Child Abuse Hotline. Any person concerned about the safety of a child can 
make a report to the Child Abuse Hotline 25 hours a day, 365 days a year. Some people have jobs that make them, “mandatory 
reporters,” meaning they are required by law to promptly notify the Child Abuse Hotline at any point that they have reasonable cause 
to suspect child abuse or neglect. The identity of the person that made the report is confidential and cannot be revealed by any 
employee of CFSD. It is important to know that state law requires CFSD to investigate all reports that meet statutory criteria of 
suspected child abuse and neglect. It is also important to know that an investigation in and of itself does not necessarily mean abuse 
or neglect has been taken place. Often, CFSD’s involvement becomes an opportunity to provide support services that can help a 
family. 

WHAT HAPPENS DURING AN INVESTIGATION? 
A Child Protection Specialist (CPS) will do the following during an investigation: 

Interview and observe all the children in your 
home. Per Montana law 41-3-202, your child may 
be interviewed at school, daycare, or any other  
place the child is present. 

Interview all adults in your home. 

Interview collateral contacts/resources who 
know your family. This can include but is not 
limited to talking with school staff, medical 
personnel, daycare providers, law enforcement  
officers, family, friends, or any other individuals 
you may identify. 

Request to visit with your family in your home 
environment. 

Will complete the investigation within 60 days. 
Treated respectfully and without discrimination 

If safety concerns are identified, the CPS will work with you and your family to alleviate safety concerns which will 
include creating a plan to control for safety, while referring you to services in the community for additional support. 

DO I HAVE A SAY IN THE MATTER? 
You have the right to direct the upbringing, education, health care, and mental health of your child and are the expert on your family. 
Your participation is extremely important so that CFSD can make an informed assessment of the allegations and how your family 
functions by understanding your family’s unique circumstances. You are not required to speak with the CPS, permit entry to your home 
or to submit to a drug/alcohol test; however, your CPS wants to hear your side of the story and your response to the allegations. 
Regardless of your level of participation. CFSD is still required to make a decision regarding your child’s safety and any statements 
made can be utilized in an administrative or court proceeding. At any point during an investigation a decision could be made to 
intervene in your family’s life for the purpose of keeping your child. You may seek/consult legal counsel at any time. 




