Department of Public Health and Human Services

Home » Human & Community Services Division » TANF Strategic Planning

Main Content

TANF Strategic Planning

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
Advisory Council to the Strategic Planning

"Families are stable, able to work, and financially secure"

 

The TANF program supports many efforts in Montana, targeting needy families including cash assistance, work support, and child care help; as well as a variety of community services including support to teen parents, youth development programs, training and work support, family economic security, etc. The strategic planning process will advise the Department of Public Health and Human Services in establishing a 5 year plan addressing the following:

 

  • Developing an overarching purpose statement for use of TANF funds that expresses the core value and purpose for the use of TANF block grant funds.
     
  • Proposing a framework that will ensure that projects funded with TANF block grant funds are complementary, integrated, interdependent, and designed to strategically achieve the overarching purpose for the funds.
     
  • Prioritizing this integrated framework by emphasizing evidence-based practices
     
  • Recommending strategies to collect outcome data for future evidence-based decision-making.
     
  • Designing a long-range strategy on the management of "carryover" funds to ensure the proper balance between meeting immediate needs while preserving "rainy day" funds for periods of economic downturn.
     
  • Providing a public input opportunity to the Department in the prioritization of use of TANF block grant funds
     
  • Learning from and informing constituent groups, stakeholders, and the legislature of how this integrated and prioritized strategic plan for use of TANF block grant funds will improve efficiencies and effectiveness in the use of those funds, with focus on support and self-sufficiency for needy families.

TANF Advisory Council Members

Name

Title

Address

City, State, Zip

Phone

Email

Barbara Burton Executive Director, Florence Crittenton Home and Services 901 North Harris Helena 59601 442-6950 barbb@florencecrittenton.org
Erin Irvine   111 3rd Ave SE Ronan 59864 203-2324 Erinirvine09@gmail.com
Sara Churchill RN - New West Insurance (Past TANF recipient) 2980 Howard Rd Helena  59602 sarachurchillrn@gmail.com
Pamela Carlson WoRC Program and Housing E&T Program Manager 1515 Winne Helena 59601 443-0800 pcarlson@ctibrc.org
Karen Vanni Program Operations Manager, Opportunities Inc. 905 1st Ave N Great Falls 59401 315-1348 karenv@gfoppinc.org
Kelsen Young Executive Director, Montana Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence PO Box 818 Helena 59624 461-4536 kyoung@mcadsv.com
Lorianne Burhop Chief Policy Officer, Montana Food Bank Network 5625 Expressway Missoula 59808 215-1773 lburhop@mfbn.org
Mary Caferro Senator 607 N. Davis St Helena 59601 461-2384 marycaferro@gmail.com
Jaymie Sheldahl Community Partnership Manager for RMDC Head Start PO Box 1717, 200 South Cruse Ave Helena  59624 457-7308 jsheldahl@rmdc.net
Veronica Moldenhauer Operations Director at Family Connections MT 202 2nd Ave S Suite 201 Great Falls 59405 761-6010 veronicam@familyconnectionsmt.org
Heather O'Loughlin Co-Director, Montana Budget and Policy Center 101 N Last Chance Gulch Suite 220 Helena 59601 422-5848 holoughlin@montanabudget.org
Arlene Templer Department Head, DHRD CSKT Box 278 Pablo 59855 675-2700 x1038 arlenet@cskt.org
Lucinda Burns Child Care Specialist, Northern Cheyenne Child Care Development & Fund Program PO Box 368 Lame Deer 59043 477-8341 ccspecialist@cheyennenation.com
Pam Watson Workforce Programs Bureau Chief PO Box 1728 Helena 59624 444-3478 pwatson@mt.gov

Advisory Council Minutes and Resources

TANF Strategic Plan 2014

Meeting Dates and Agendas

Additional Information

Strategic Planning Minutes and Resources 2014

Strategic Planning Focus Groups and Surveys 2014