Department of Public Health and Human Services

Home » Public Health & Safety » EMS and Trauma Systems » MobileSim Montana » Board of Directors

Main Content

Board of Directors

Enter Title

Simulation in Motion, Inc
(also dba MobileSim Montana)

Board of Directors

Steve McNeece MBA, President, Community Hospital of Anaconda (Anaconda, MT)
Board Chair

Steve McNeeceMr. McNeece was named CEO of Community Hospital of Anaconda in 2001.  Under his leadership, CHA has expanded service offerings, including specialties such as neurosurgery, cardiology, endocrinology, and rheumatology.  During his tenure, CHA has completed the construction of a new surgical wing and two medical office buildings as well as an expansion of the Emergency Department, all while maintaining a positive financial margin the last fourteen years.  Mr. McNeece’s steady leadership and focus on quality and safety has resulted in CHA being recognized by several national organizations, including being named one of only sixteen hospitals in the nation to be recognized as an iVantage HEALTHSTRONG Top 100 Critical Access Hospital the last five consecutive years.  In 2015, Community Hospital of Anaconda received the prestigious Quality Achievement Award from the Mountain-Pacific Quality Health Foundation for an unprecedented eleventh year in a row.  CHA has also been recognized with the Montana Innovation in Health Care Award for three consecutive years.    Mr. McNeece is the previous Chair of the Montana Hospital Association Board of Directors and serves on Governor Bullock’s Council for Healthcare Innovation.  

Drew Dawson, retired, Office of EMS, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Board Vice-Chair

Drew DawsonA Montana native and University of North Dakota graduate, was a volunteer EMT and director of the Boulder, Montana Volunteer Ambulance Service for many years. Drew served as Montana’s State EMS Training coordinator for several years and as the Montana State EMS Director for over twenty years.  Dawson was Chief of the Health System Bureau for the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services where he oversaw the State Office of Primary Care, Emergency Medical Services and Injury Prevention Section, Office of Public Health Systems Improvement and the Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Section.

In 2003, Dawson transitioned from Montana to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in Washington, D.C. where he oversaw the emergency medical services activities of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and their leadership role in the nation’s EMS system including the development and implementation of many national EMS programs and activities.  As Director of NHTSA’s Office of Emergency Medical Services, he was responsible for the management of the statutorily mandated activities of the National EMS Advisory Council, the Federal Interagency Committee on Emergency Services and the National 911 program.  Dawson retired from Federal service in October, 2015, and returned to Montana.

During his career, Dawson served as the President of the National Association of State EMS Directors and Chairman of the National Registry of EMTs Board of Directors. He received several awards including: the Rocco V. Morando Award, Lifetime Achievement in EMS (NAEMT and NREMT); American College of Emergency Physicians, Outstanding Contribution in Emergency Medical Services; International Association of EMS Chiefs, Eagles Award; American Academy of Pediatrics - Meritorious Contributions to the Health and Well Being of Children, Youth and Families; National Registry of EMTs Special Recognition, the National Association of EMS Physicians Ronald D. Stewart Award for Outstanding Contributions to Prehospital Emergency Care, and the National Association of EMS Educators Lifetime Achievement Award.

David Gurchiek, PhD, NRP
Board Secretary

Dave GurchiekDave started his career in EMS over forty years ago as a hospital corpsman in the United State Navy. After serving his country he obtained his paramedic certificate in 1977 where he went on to work for a county EMS system in Indiana. In 1985 he became the EMS coordinator for a hospital in northern Indiana where he taught/coordinated all levels of EMS providers (EMT, AEMT, Paramedic). In 1990 he was hired as the paramedic education coordinator for Deaconess Medical Center in Billings Montana responsible for teaching the first paramedics in the state that would go on to sit for national certification and state licensure. In 1996 he was offered a paramedic program director/faculty tenured position at Montana State University Billings.

During Dr. Gurchiek’s 20-year tenure at Montana State University Billings he has served as a department chair (nursing, health, and public safety), interim associate dean, paramedic program director, union president, academic senator, and IRB member. He also has experience with the accreditation side of academia serving as a CoAEMSP/CAAHEP programmatic site visitor and self-study reader. During this tenure timeframe he lectured at over 100 state and national EMS conferences throughout the United States.

Kyle Gibson RN, CCRN, CFRN, Paramedic

Kyle GibsonKyle started his medical career as a basic EMT at the age of 18 when he attended BYU-Idaho and graduated with a degree in Paramedicine. While working as a paramedic, Kyle attended Nursing school at the College of Southern Idaho graduating as a Registered Nurse. He continued to work as a Nurse in the NICU, ICU and ER while still working the streets as a Paramedic.  Kyle is currently the Clinical Transport Manager for Northeastern Montana Stat Air. He enjoys the challenges of flight and teaching other about EMS.