Receiving and Making Payments

Receiving Payments

Payments are issued electronically by direct deposit to a bank account or to a U.S. Bank ReliaCard® Visa® prepaid debit card. You can choose direct deposit or ReliaCard®. If you do not make a choice payments automatically go on the card.

Payments are distributed according to state and federal rules, regulations and laws.

Direct Deposit

The CSED does not notify you of payments transferred to your bank account, but payment information is available from our website or automated voice response unit. Also, your financial institution can verify a deposit. It will appear on your bank statement.

Is there a fee for direct deposit? Fees or restrictions are those that may be imposed by your financial institution.

To cancel direct deposit or to change banking information fax or mail your request to Fax: (406) 444-6934; Mail; CSED EFT Disbursements, Fiscal Unit, PO Box 202943, Helena MT 59620

CSED Direct Deposit Contact Information Phone number (406) 444-2775 Fax number (406) 444-6934


The card can be used to make purchases and to request cash back at the time of purchase anywhere Visa ® debit cards are accepted. A cash withdrawal is available at an Automatic Teller Machine (ATM).

Are there fees for ReliaCard cash withdrawals? The first ReliaCard® cash access each month is free from an in network ATM. There could be additional withdrawal fees based on varying types of ATMs. U.S. Bank will send you a monthly statement showing your account activity or inactivity. There is a charge for inactive accounts. You may also check the U.S. Bank website for recent transactions.

Upon receipt of your ReliaCard® you will receive information from U.S. Bank instructing you in the use of card. It is important to keep these instructions for future reference. The first time the CSED processes your payment U.S. Bank will send you a card and instructions for using it. It takes 7 to 10 days to receive the card once the first payment is issued by the CSED.

For questions about the ReliaCard or for Customer Service: (855) 203-3863 or

Making Payments

→Go to Montana Child Support Make a Payment

Montana Interactive maintains the on-line payment application on behalf of the CSED. The on-line payment application is a way for employers and non-custodial parents to electronically pay child support from either a checking account or credit card. The fee for a check is $2.00 and the fee for the credit card is pro-rated. You can contact their Help Desk at (406) 449-3468 for assistance with setting this up for automatic payments.

→Mail checks or money orders made out to Montana CSED to:

    Montana CSED
PO Box 8001
            Helena, MT 59604

Please make sure the payments include the payors name and case number or participant ID.

To receive credit a payment must be sent through the CSED on an open case, refer to Terms & Conditions for further information.

Lookup a Payment

→Go to Montana Child Support Payment Lookup

→Call the CSED Interactive Voice Response Unit (IVR): In-state 1-800-346-KIDS (5437), Helena area 444-9855, Out-of-state 1-406-444-9855

Your MT Case Number  and Social Security Number are required to access both options.