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References: 7 CFR 273.7, 7 CFR 273.24, FS Act section 6 (D)(2) 

Overview: GENERAL RULE--The Able Bodied Adults Without Dependents (ABAWD) provision 
limits the receipt of SNAP benefits to three initial months and up to three extended 
months in a 36 month period.  Montana was granted a waiver from this limit in 14 
counties and 5  reservations for one year based on labor market statistics (SNAP 
802-1).  In Yellowstone, Missoula and Lewis and Clark Counties ABAWDs without 
exemptions who enroll in SNAP Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) will not have 
time limits while participating in SNAP E&T. 

Policy: THREE-MONTH RULES 
The following rules apply to ABAWD time limits. 

1. Montana has determined its 36 month period to be a fixed period starting 
January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2017. 

 
2. The initial three months do not need to be consecutive. 

 
3. The extended months must be consecutive, only apply in particular 

circumstances (SNAP 803-1), and can only be used once in any three year 
period. 

           
4. Prorated months do not count as an ABAWD month. 

 
5. Any month issued as an ABAWD month and not verified as not received will 

continue to be counted as an ABAWD month (e.g., an Electronic Benefit 
Transfer card is credited for a non-exempt participant, but is not used, 
would still count as an ABAWD month). 

 
6. Any month of participation in which an individual is exempt from ABAWD 

provisions due to either a personal exemption or a waiver provision does 
not count toward the individual’s three month participation limit. 
 

7. Months in which an individual is disqualified for any reason are not counted 
as an ABAWD month for that individual.  

 
8. If a person becomes ABAWD exempt during an ABAWD month, the 

exemption takes effect the month following the month the exemption is 
reported. An exception is the month of the 50th birthday when the 
exemption begins the first of the month in which the participant turns 50 
years of age. 
 

9. In a SNAP E&T County, individuals are exempt from time limits by attending 
SNAP E&T. 

 
10. In a SNAP E&T County, an individual  who used all of their ABAWD months 
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can regain eligibility by enrolling in SNAP E&T at reapplication.  An individual 
who has exhausted ABAWD months is not considered eligible, however, 
until he/she has actually enrolled in SNAP E&T (803-1). 

 
11. When the ABAWD period has expired a timely notice of adverse action must 

be sent. 
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