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304-1 Age of Minor Child and Student Status

Supersedes:

TANF 304-1 (07/01/03)

References:

ARM 37.78.102, .103, .206, .207, and .208

Overview:

GENERAL RULE— TANF cash assistance is provided to a needy family with a minor
child.

A minor child is an individual under age 18, or if age 18 is attending secondary
school or an equivalent level program full-time. When the 18-year-old is no longer
attending school full-time, his/her eligibility ends the last day of the month school
attendance ends. The month after the child turns 19 he/she is no longer considered
a minor child regardless of school attendance.

Minor children, age 16 or 17, not attending secondary school or an equivalent level
program full-time, are required to complete a Family Investment Agreement/WoRC
Employability Plan (FIA/EP). (TANF 701-1)

SCHOOL
ATTENDANCE

In most public schools (elementary and secondary), full-time attendance is defined
as receiving instruction for the school term (180 instructional days) approximately
six (6) hours per day/30 hours per week.

To determine school attendance and full-time student status for the 16, 17, or 18-
year-old minor child, request a statement from the appropriate school official. If the
child is “home schooled” request this information from the child’s caretaker
relative.

HOME
SCHOOLING

Minor children may be “home schooled” rather than enrolled in public or private
schools. In Montana, home-schooling arrangements must be registered with the
county superintendent of schools except if the child is age 16 or older. (Registration
is not required for 16-year-old because under Montana law children may choose to
not attend any school upon reaching age 16.) Registration identifies those children
of school age living in the school district, not enrolled in the school system, but not
to be considered truant. “Home schooling” instructional time does not have to be
scheduled Monday through Friday nor during “regular” school hours.

If the home schooling average weekly hours are within plus or minus five (5) hours
of the public school’s schedule of 30 hours of class time per week, consider the 16,
17, or 18-year-old a full-time student. The 16 or 17-year-old may attend less than
full-time and still qualify as a minor child but the 18-year-old must be a full-time
secondary school student as stated in the General Rule.

GED CLASSES

When the 18-year-old is enrolled and attending GED (Graduate Equivalency
Diploma) classes rather than high school, the attendance hours may vary but should
closely approximate 30 hours/week on average to qualify the 18-year-old as a full-
time student or to allow the 16 or 17-year old to not have a FIA/EP. Request
verification of attendance hours and other requirements from the institution
providing the instruction.
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