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801-1 Time Limits Overview

Supersedes:

TANF 801-1 (07/01/05)

References:

ARM 37.78.102; ARM 37.78.201 and .202; 45 CFR 264.1

Overview:

GENERAL RULE-- A State’s TANF program replaces the former Aid to Families With
Dependent Children cash assistance program and may be known by a title other
than TANF. Per Federal regulations TANF funds can only be used to provide cash
assistance to eligible families that include an adult caretaker relative for 60 months,
unless the adults in the home meet the State’s qualifying conditions for extended
TANF assistance. The 60 months begin after the date the State’s TANF program
began and do not need to be consecutive. Federal Law allows each state to have up
to 20% of their caseload receiving assistance longer than 60 months. Each state
establishes their own policies regarding who qualifies for these extended benefits.

MONTANA TANF
CLOCK

Montana’s TANF-60 clocks began incrementing February 1, 1997 for all ongoing and
new Cash Assistance cases.

Montana maintains TWO 60 month time clocks for each adult, one State and one
Federal.

COUNTABLE
MONTHS

Each month of cash assistance an adult, a teen parent living months independently,
or a minor parent receives in any State can count as one month of assistance
against the 60-month limitation. However, each State’s policy and procedure varies
depending on funding sources and State options. See section 802-1 (Incrementing
MT Time Clock) for information on which adults will incur countable TANF months
on Montana’s State and/or Federal time clock.

INQUIRES ABOUT

All of Montana’s TANF case assistance is federally funded. However, Montana has

MT’S CLOCK two time clocks.
CHANGES IN If a family who has previously received TANF Cash Assistance joins a family currently
HOUSEHOLD receiving TANF Cash Assistance, the system will evaluate the Montana TANF time
COMPOSITION clock of all adult participants who are in the household.
When an adult required filing unit member leaves the assistance unit, the system
will re-evaluate the TANF time clock to determine continued eligibility for time-
limited benefits.
See Section 201-3 (Adding/removing HH members) for specific policy and
procedure.
EXTENDED TANF | An individual’s Montana TANF time clock may exceed 60 months if all adults in the
PAST 60 MONTH | household qualify for TANF extended benefits. See section 801-3 TANF Extended
LIMIT Benefit Policy and Procedure for process.
AUTO- CHIMES auto-generates three time limit notifications to clients. See section 801-3
GENERATED TANF Extended Benefit Policy and Procedure for details.
TIME LIMIT
NOTIFICATION
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