Home » About DPHHS » News » 2017 » Bohlinger Award

Bohlinger Award

Enter Title


May 15, 2017

Contact:  Jon Ebelt, Public Information Officer, DPHHS, (406) 444-0936

                Chuck Council, Communications Specialist, DPHHS, (406) 444-4391


Montana Cancer Coalition honors Bozeman’s Becky Franks with

Bette Bohlinger Leadership Award


Montana Cancer Coalition member Becky Franks of Bozeman will be awarded the 2017 Bette Bohlinger Leadership Award Tuesday, May 16 at 11:45 am at the Montana Cancer Coalition (MTCC) Statewide Meeting held at the Radisson Colonial Hotel in Helena, MT.

Franks is being recognized for her work and commitment to enhance the quality of life for people diagnosed with cancer. She is the MTCC past Co-Chair, the Executive Director of Cancer Support Community Montana, and serves as the Chair of the Gallatin County Board of Health.

“Becky is a strategic thinker, she gets things done, her energy never diminishes, her friendly personality builds relationships, she speaks up for those who need to be heard, and she is caring and committed to changing the lives of those dealing with cancer,” said Nancy Lee, Co-Chair of the MTCC, who nominated Franks for the award.

Under Franks’ leadership, the MTCC developed the 2016-2021 Montana Comprehensive Cancer Control Plan, the MTCC steering committee was expanded to include three leadership positions and two implementation team co-chairs, and the Cancer Support Community Montana opened a second office in Kalispell. Franks served as a leader for the development of three regional Moonshot Summit events that congregated in Kalispell, Bozeman, and Billings in 2016 and attended the Moonshot Celebration in Washington, DC in January 2017.

“These intertwining roles have placed Becky at the forefront of developing a strategy for reducing the incidents of cancer, improving treatments and outcomes, assuring every person has access to the best cancer care, and supporting people during the dying process,” Lee said.

Franks joins previous recipients: Jean Raw is 2015, the MTCC Early Detection Team in 2014, Sarah Porter-Osen in 2013, Diana Reetz Stacey in 2012, Cheryl Hackett in 2011, Dr. Thomas Purcell in 2010, Betsy Smith in 2009, Sue Warren in 2008, Rita McDonald in 2007, and Dr. Barbara Lloyd in 2006.

Bette Bohlinger died of acute myeloid leukemia in 2006 and following her passing the MTCC created the award to honor an exceptional individual or organization that encourages, inspires, and leads others within the group.

The MTCC, in partnership with DPHHS, was created in 2003 to educate Montana residents about cancer prevention. The group is comprised over 200 state health advocates and organizations with the common mission to reduce the overall burden of cancer for Montanans.

The MTCC will hold its annual statewide meeting Tuesday, May 16th, 2017 in Helena at the Radisson Colonial Hotel from 8:30 am - 3:30 pm. 

For additional information, contact Nikki Campbell 406-444-7858, ncampbell@mt.gov