
 

Montana Vital Records 
PO Box 4210 
Helena MT  59604 
8:00 AM to 4:45 PM 
 
 

NAME CHANGE 

 
Requires a certified court order for correcting the 
child’s name i.e. change of first, middle or last name 
or adding suffix. 
 
NOT NAMED CHILD 
 
Up to 1 year 
With use of Parent’s Informational Copy, add the  
Child’s first and middle name sign and date the form 
and return to Montana Vital Records. 
 
1 year and up 
Requires a notarized affidavit from parent on the 
birth certificate and 2 supporting* documents are 
required. 
 
MINOR NAME CORRECTIONS 

 
Means a correction made to a registered certificate 
because of a typographical error including misspelling 
and missing or transposed letters. 
 
Up to 1 year 
With use of Parent’s Informational Copy, line through 
the incorrect spelling and place the correct spelling 
sign and date the form and return to Montana Vital 
Records. 
 
1 year and up 
Requires a notarized affidavit from the parent or 
individual on the birth certificate and two individual 
supporting* documents. 
 
Examples: Vazquez to Vasques, Sharon to Sharron 

 
Correction affidavits and supporting documents list 
may be obtained either at 
http://dphhs.mt.gov/vitalrecords or contact Montana 
Vital Records. Please contact our Corrections Dept to 
verify if documentation is acceptable. Corrections 
Dept 406-444-9039. 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
Physical Address: 
111 N Sanders Rm 6 
Helena MT 59601 
 
 
 
ERROR’S ON PARENTS INFORMATION 
 
Such as Name, Date of Birth and Place of Birth 
 
Up to 1 year 
With use of Parent’s Informational Copy, line through 
the incorrect spelling and place the correct spelling 
sign and date the form and return to Montana Vital 
Records. 
 
1 year and up 
Requires a notarized affidavit from the parent or 
individual on the birth certificate and one individual 
supporting* document. 
 
 
ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF PATERNITY  

 
If you are not married to the natural father at the time 
of your child’s birth, and you want the natural father’s 
name on the child’s birth certificate, you and the 
natural father of your child can complete an 
acknowledgment of paternity.  This can be done 
either at the time of your child’s birth or anytime in 
your child’s life.   
 
Additionally if at the time of establishing paternity, the 
parents have an option to change the child’s last 
name (If you desire this change, please contact 
Montana Vital Records before submitting the Paternity 
form) 
 
An acknowledgment of paternity may be withdrawn by 
either the mother or the father within 60 days after the 
acknowledgment of paternity was signed, or before a 
support order is entered, whichever comes first.   
 
If you have any questions, you may call (406) 444-
9039 for further information. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Corrections/Paternity call 406-444-9039 
 
Non-Paternity call 406-444-4226 
 
 
NON PATERNITY ON YOUR CHILD’S BIRTH 
CERTIFICATE 
 
If you were married at the time of your child’s birth,  
Montana Law 50-15-221 states that if a mother was 
married at the time of conception or birth or anytime 
between conception and birth, the name of the  
husband must be placed on the birth certificate as the 
father of the child.  Even though your husband’s name 
is not shown on the birth certificate, his legal interest 
to the child still remains. 
 
There are two (2) ways to have your husband’s 
interest removed: 
 
1. You and your husband complete an Affidavit of 
Nonpaternity and return it to Montana Vital Records.  
This will remove his name and/or interest to the child 
on the birth certificate.  Once the Affidavit of 
Nonpaternity form has been signed and received by 
Montana Vital Records, you may then order a certified 
copy of your child’s birth certificate. 
 
2.  Submit a certified Court Order that states: 
     a. Child’s full name, date and place of birth 
     b. That your husband (state his name) is not the  
          father of the child and his name should not be  
          shown on the child’s birth certificate. 
     c. You may also have the Certified Court Order  
         direct Montana Vital Records to add the natural  
        father’s information (including name, date and 
        place of birth) to the birth certificate and if  
        desired, change the child’s last name. 
    d. Certified Court Order needs to direct Montana  
         Vital Records to create a new birth certificate. 

 
Once the Certified Court Order has been received by 
Montana Vital Records, you may then order a certified 
copy of your child’s birth certificate. 
 
You will not be able to order a certified copy of your 
child’s birth certificate until your husband’s legal 
interest in the child has been taken care of.  If you 
have any questions, you may call (406) 444-4226 for 
further information. 

http://dphhs.mt.gov/vitalrecords

