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INTRODUCTION

“Thousands of children are alive and safe today because a
principal or a teacher or some other caring adult at school
was sensitive to a particular child’s behavior, was willing to
observe and to listen, and then acted on that information by
filing a report. Reporting-by itself-does not guarantee that a
child will be protected from continued abuse; but the failure
to report adds yet another layer of bitterness and betrayal to
the suffering of an already betrayed child.”

National Association of Elementary School Principals
Vol. 9 Number 9, June 1991

This publication contains important information to assist school
personnel in identifying, reporting, and responding to the abused and
neglected children with whom they have contact. Unfortunately, a
disturbing number of cases go unreported. In addition to professional,
legal, and moral responsibility, school personnel are in daily contact with
children and have the unique opportunity to observe and advocate for
them.

Montana’s child abuse and neglect mandatory reporting laws apply
equally to administrators, aides, bus drivers, counselors, custodians, food
services workers, librarians, nurses, secretaries and teachers-any and all
school personnel who work during the regular school hours. Child abuse
and neglect must be reported before a child can be protected and services
offered to the family.



WHY SCHOOL EMPLOYEES SHOULD BE
INVOLVED

In an article for the Education Commission of the States, C.D. Jones and
Phil Fox describe the school system as “the most comprehensive social
resource for the total growth of a child.” For that reason they conclude,
“educators are a major factor in assisting abused and neglected children
and their families.”

Educators and other school employees are in a unique position to help
abused and neglected children, their families, child protective service
workers, and the community in overcoming the effects of child abuse and
neglect. Research indicates that over half of America’s abused and
neglected children are of school age. A child may have been abused prior
to school entrance but the situation may not come to anyone’s attention
until the child enters school.

Moreover, since schools are one of the few places where children are
seen on a daily basis over extended periods of time, school staff have an
opportunity to compare and contrast unusual behavior to behavior
considered normal. In addition to the legal obligation, the moral and
ethical obligations are compelling reasons for school personnel to take an
active role in reporting suspected child abuse and neglect cases.

HOW TO REPORT SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE
AND NEGLECT

When you have information that leads you to suspect that child abuse or
neglect may be occurring, call the MONTANA’S STATEWIDE
TOLL-FREE CHILD ABUSE HOTLINE at 1-866-820-KIDS (1-866-
820-5437). This Hotline is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

A trained Intake Specialist will take your information and will assess it to
determine if there is reasonable cause to suspect abuse/neglect by statute
for a Child Protection report or if a different category of report is
appropriate. Law Enforcement will be informed when necessary.

This method of reporting assures that reports are defined in a consistent
way throughout Montana. It also allows local CFSD CPS workers more
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time to focus on investigation and intervention in child abuse and neglect
cases. You and your local CPS workers may continue to have contact
during investigations and interventions and you may still contact your
local CPS worker if you have questions about a report you made to the
Hotline. It is important that you call the HOTLINE to report
suspected child abuse or neglect rather than your local office. A
report cannot be entered into the Child Protective Services
automated system unless the report is entered by a Centralized
Intake Specialist, 1-866-820-5437.

School employee’s legal obligation as a Mandated Reporter should be
fulfilled. The investigative process, if required, will be initiated. If an
educator or other school employee fails to make a report, there may be
no way for CFSD to know that a child might be in danger.

Of particular concern to some school employees, in the past, is the lack
of follow-up information received from Child and Family Services after
a referral is made. The 2013 Legislature amended the child abuse and
neglect reporting statute to address these types of concerns and allow the
Division to share some information with school employees and other
mandatory reporters. The Division may now verify that an abuse or
neglect report was received, what response will be taken by the Division,
the timeframe for the response, and that a report has been acted upon.
The Division may also share limited information about the investigation
of the report which may include its outcome and any subsequent action
that will be taken on behalf of the child who is the subject of the report.

A school employee who receives any confidential information regarding
a child’s case is bound by the confidentiality statute and may not share
the information with anyone, including other school employees, not
specifically listed in the statutes.

MONTANA STATE LAWS

Montana’s child abuse and neglect laws are more inclusive than stated
below. Only some of the Montana Code Annotated sections pertinent to
the reporting of child abuse and neglect cases by school personnel are
reproduced here. It should be noted that Legislative changes to MCA are
not codified until October 1* of the applicable year.



41-3-101, MCA. Declaration of policy.
(1) It is the policy of the state of Montana to:
(a) provide for the protection of children whose health and welfare
are or may be adversely affected and further threatened by the
conduct of those responsible for the children’s care and protection;
(b) achieve these purposes in a family environment and preserve the
unity and welfare of the family whenever possible;
(c) ensure that there is no forced removal of child from the family
based solely on an allegation of abuse or neglect unless the
department has reasonable cause to suspect that the child is at
imminent risk of harm;
(d) recognize that a child is entitled to assert the child’s
constitutional rights;
(e) ensure that all children have a right to a healthy and safe
childhood in a permanent placement;
(f) ensure that whenever removal of a child from the home is
necessary, the child is entitled to maintain ethnic, cultural, and
religious heritage whenever appropriate.

41-3-102, MCA. Definitions.
(6) “Child” or “youth” means any person under 18 years of age.
(7) (a) “Child abuse or neglect” means:
(1) actual (emphasis added) physical or psychological harm to a
child;
(i) substantial risk (emphasis added) of physical or psychological
harm to a child; or
(ii1) abandonment.
(b) (D The term includes:
(A) actual (emphasis added) physical or psychological harm to a
child or substantial risk (emphasis added) of physical or
psychological harm to a child by the acts or omissions of a person
responsible for the child’s welfare; or
(B) exposing a child to the criminal distribution of dangerous drugs,
as prohibited by 45-9-101, the criminal production or
manufacture of dangerous drugs, as prohibited by 45-9-110, or the
operation of an unlawful clandestine laboratory, as prohibited by 45-
9-132; or
(C) any form of child sex trafficking or human trafficking.
(ii) For the purposes of this subsection (7), “dangerous drugs” means
the compounds and substances described as dangerous drugs in
schedules I through IV in Title 50, chapter 32, part 2.
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Definition of a Person Responsible for a Child’s Welfare
(2) “A person responsible for a child’s welfare” means:
(a) the child’s parent, guardian, foster parent, or an adult who resides
in the same home in which the child resides;
(b) a person providing care in a day-care facility;
(c) an employee of a public or private residential institution, facility,
home, or agency; or
(d) any other person responsible for the child’s welfare in a residential
setting. (Section 41-3-102, MCA.)

41-3-201, MCA. Reports.
(1) When the professionals and officials listed in subsection (2)
know or have reasonable cause to suspect, as a result of information
they receive in their professional or official capacity, that a child is
abused or neglected by anyone regardless of whether the person
suspected of causing the abuse or neglect is a parent or other person
responsible for the child’s welfare, they shall report the matter
promptly to the department. The department shall follow the
provisions of [section 1] in taking the report.
(2) Professionals and officials required to report are:
(a) a physician, resident, intern, or member of a hospital’s staff
engaged in the admission, examination, care, or treatment of persons;
(b) a nurse, osteopath, chiropractor, podiatrist, medical examiner,
coroner, dentist, optometrist, or any other health or mental health
professional;
(c) religious healers;
(d) schoolteachers, other school officials, and employees who work
during regular school hours;
(e) a social worker licensed pursuant to Title 37, child protection
specialist, operator or employee of any registered or licensed day-
care or substitute care facility, staff of a resource and referral grant
program organized under 52-2-711 or of a child and adult food care
program, or an operator or employee of a child-care facility;
(f) a foster care, residential, or institutional worker;
(g) a peace officer or other law enforcement official;
(h) a member of the clergy, as defined in 15-6-201(2)(b);
(i) guardian ad litem or a court-appointed advocate who is authorized
to investigate a report of alleged abuse or neglect; or
(j) an employee of an entity that contracts with the department to
provide direct services to children; and
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(k) an employee of the department while in conduct of the
employee's duties.

(3) A professional listed in subsection (2) (a) or (2) (b) involved in
the delivery of care of an infant shall report to the department any
infant known to the professional to be affected by a dangerous drug,
as defined in 50-32-101.

(5) (a) When a professional or official required to report under
subsection (2) makes a report, the department:

(i) may share information with:

(A) that professional or official; or

(B) other individuals with whom the professional or official works
in an official capacity if the individuals are part of a team that responds
to matters involving the child or the person about whom the report was
made and the professional or official has asked that the information be
shared with the individuals; and

(i1) shall share information with the individuals listed in subsections
(5)(a)(1)(A) and (5)(a)(1)(B) on specific request. Information shared
pursuant to this subsection (5)(a)(ii) may be limited to the outcome of
the investigation and any subsequent action that will be taken on
behalf of the child who is the subject of the report.

(b) The department may provide information in accordance with 41-
3-202(7) and also share information about the investigation, limited
to its outcome and any subsequent action that will be taken on behalf
of the child who is the subject of the report.

(¢) Individuals who receive information pursuant to this subsection
(5) shall maintain the confidentiality of the information as required
by 41-3-205.

41-3-202, MCA. Action on reporting.
(7) The department shall, upon request from any reporter of alleged
child abuse or neglect, verify whether the report has been received,
describe the level of response and timeframe for action that the
department has assigned to the report, and confirm that it is being
acted upon.

41-3-203, MCA. Liability--immunity from liability damages.

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2), anyone investigating or
reporting any incident of child abuse or neglect under 41-3-201
or 41-3-202, participating in resulting judicial proceedings, or
furnishing hospital or medical records as required by 41-3-202 is
immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might
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otherwise be incurred or imposed unless the person was grossly
negligent or acted in bad faith or with malicious purpose or
provided information knowing the information to be false.

(2) Any person who knowingly makes a false report or allegation of
child abuse, abandonment, or neglect or makes a report in bad
faith is liable to the party or parties against whom the report was
made for the amount of actual damages sustained or for statutory
damages of $2,500, whichever is greater, plus attorney fees and
costs. If the person acted with malicious purpose, the court may
award treble actual damages or treble statutory damages,
whichever is greater.

(3) A person who provides information pursuant to 41-3-201 or a
person who uses information received pursuant to 41-3-205 to
refuse to hire or to discharge a prospective or current employee,
volunteer, or other person who through employment or volunteer
activities may have unsupervised contact with children is
immune from civil liability unless the person acted in bad faith
or with malicious purpose.

41-3-205, MCA. Confidentiality-disclosure exceptions.
(1) The case records of the department and its local affiliate, the local
office of public assistance, the county attorney, and the court
concerning actions taken under this chapter and all records concerning
reports of child abuse and neglect must be kept confidential except as
provided by this section. Except as provided in subsections (9) and
(10), a person who purposely or knowingly permits or encourages the
unauthorized dissemination of the contents of case records is guilty of
a misdemeanor.
(2) Records may be disclosed to a court for in camera inspection if
relevant to an issue before it. The court may permit public disclosure
if it finds disclosure to be necessary for the fair resolution of an issue
before it.
(3) Records, including case notes, correspondence, evaluations,
videotapes, and interviews, unless otherwise protected by this section
or unless disclosure of the records is determined to be detrimental to
the child or harmful to another person who is a subject of
information contained in the records, must upon request, be disclosed
to the following persons or entities in this state and any other state or
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(v) a school employee participating in an interview of a child by a
child protection specialist, county attorney, or peace officer, as
provided in 41-3-202;

(w) a member of a county or regional interdisciplinary child
information and school safety team formed under the provisions of 52-
2-211;

41-3-207, MCA. Penalties--failure to report--false reporting.

(1) Any person, official, or institution required by 41-3-201 to report
known or suspected child abuse or neglect who fails to do so or
who prevents another person from reasonably doing so is civilly
liable for the damages proximately caused by the act or
omission.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), any person or official
required by 41-3-201 to report known or suspected child abuse or
neglect who purposely or knowingly fails to report known child
abuse or neglect or purposely or knowingly prevents another
person from making a report is guilty of a misdemeanor.

TRUANCY
Truancy alone does not meet the criteria for child neglect. Chronic
truancy in the presence of additional information indicating parental
neglect must be reported to Montana’s Child Abuse Hotline. If truancy is
the sole issue of concern, the school’s truancy officer can refer to the
Montana Code Annotated section cited below which is not inclusive of
the entire law:

20-5-106. MCA. Truancy.
(1) For the purposes of this part “truant” or “truancy” means the
persistent nonattendance without excuse, as defined by district
policy, for all or any part of a school day equivalent to the length of
one class period of a child required to attend a school under 20-5-
103.
(2) If an attendance officer discovers a child is truant, the attendance
officer may make a reasonable effort to notify the parent, guardian,
or other person responsible for the care of the child that the
continued truancy of the child may result in the prosecution of the
parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the care of the child
under the provisions of this section. If the child is discovered to be
truant after the attendance officer has made a reasonable effort to
notify the parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the care
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of the child, the attendance officer may require that the parent,
guardian, or other person responsible for the care of the child and the
child meet with an individual designated by the school district to
formulate a truancy plan to address and resolve the truancy. If the
parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the care of the child
fails to meet with the designated individual or fails to uphold the
responsibilities under the provisions of the truancy plan, the
attendance officer may refer the matter to the prosecuting attorney in
a court of competent jurisdiction for a determination regarding
whether to prosecute the parent, guardian, or other person
responsible for the care of the child.

Educational Neglect is not defined in statute as an indicator of
maltreatment.

THE EXTENT OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT

In state fiscal year 2024, there were 28,812 calls to the Hotline in which
20,976 reports were entered. Of these, 6,544 reports required an
investigation by Child and Family Services Division. As of July 1, 2024,
there were 2,183 children in foster care.

Not all reports result in children being removed from their homes. There
are situations in which the investigating CPS worker determines that the
child may safely remain in the home with supportive services, in-home
services may be provided by department staff or contracted providers.
These services include but are not limited to home visiting, parenting
classes, stress and anger management, budgeting, transportation, and
childcare/respite. Child and Family Services continues to serve children
and families through In-Home Services. For In-Home Service referrals
contact your local Child and Family Services office.

REPORTING PROCEDURE AND INFORMATION

Reporting is the most critical step in obtaining help for both the child and
the family. Under Montana law, if any school staff member has
reasonable cause to suspect that a child is being abused or neglected, it
remains that individual’s obligation to see that the situation is reported to
the Child Abuse Hotline.
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Reporting concerns to another school official does not satisfy the
reporting requirement. School personnel must report directly to the
Child and Family Services Division Hotline. Where there is a conflict
between state law and a school’s reporting procedures, state law
prevails.

41-3-201, MCA. Reports.
(7) The reports referred to under this section must contain:
(a) the names and addresses of the child and the child’s parents or
other persons responsible for the child’s care;
(b) to the extent known, the child’s age and the nature and extent
of the child’s injuries, including any evidence of previous
injuries;
(c) any other information that the maker of the report believes
might be helpful in establishing the cause of the injuries or
showing the willful neglect and the identity of person or persons
responsible for the injury or neglect; and
(d) the facts that led the person reporting to believe that the child
has suffered injury or injuries or willful neglect, within the
meaning of this chapter.

However, even if you do not have all the above information, please
make a report to the Hotline if you suspect abuse/neglect.

Generally speaking, the role of school personnel ends with the
reporting of child maltreatment. Reporting, however, is just the
beginning of the child protection process. Treatment, strengthening of
families, rehabilitation and prevention of further child maltreatment
still lie ahead. Increasingly, schools and school personnel are
providing assistance and support to the Child and Family Services
Division’s staff by:
e participating on multidisciplinary teams to share information
about families and children after they have been reported;
e providing direct support services to the child, the parents and
the family; and
e becoming actively involved in community efforts to reduce
the incidence of child maltreatment.
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INVESTIGATION AND INTERVENTION

People reporting child maltreatment sometimes express feelings of guilt
for making the referral because they believe the report may bring
punishment to the family. Reporters are sometimes fearful they may be
targeted by the alleged maltreating individual. The names and any
identifying information regarding the reporter are confidential and are
not released unless the person has a need to know as defined by MCA
41-3-205. The main goal of the Child and Family Services Division is to
protect the child while supporting the family through remediation, not
punishment.

A child protection specialist, county attorney or police
officer may interview a student at school as part of a
child abuse and neglect investigation without prior
parental permission.

There may be situations, particularly with very young children, when a
CPS worker may invite a teacher or counselor to be present during the
interview if this would help a child feel comfortable. Questions from
school staff regarding their involvement in this process should be
discussed with the CPS worker conducting the interview before the
interview takes place.

If it is determined that the child is neglected or abused by a person
responsible for the child’s welfare, the CPS worker will provide
appropriate protective services to the child. “A person responsible for a
child’s welfare” is defined as:

(a) the child’s parent, guardian, foster parent, or an adult who resides

in the same home in which the child resides;

(b) a person providing care in a day-care facility;

(c) an employee of a public or private residential institution, facility,

home, or agency; or

(d) any other person responsible for the child’s welfare in a

residential setting. (MCA§ 41-3-102)

If the investigation indicates that the abuse or neglect was caused by
someone other than a person legally responsible for the child’s welfare,
such as school personnel, a babysitter, a neighbor or a stranger, law
enforcement will take over the primary responsibility for any continuing
investigation. Regardless of who the perpetrator is thought to be,
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school staff must report all suspected cases of abuse or neglect to the
Child Abuse Hotline.

If you are uncertain whether to report or to whom you should report
suspected child maltreatment, call the 7 days a week, 24 hours a day
Child Abuse Hotline at 1-866-820-5437.

The removal of the child from the parents’ custody is recommended only
when the child cannot be protected in the home. Under these
circumstances, the Child and Family Services Division through the local
county attorney, petitions the District Court for the legal authority to
remove the child from the home. During this time, the child may be
placed in a foster home or in a kinship placement with a relative and a
treatment plan will be developed with the parents. The plan may include
medical examinations, psychological evaluations, participation in various
treatment programs and permission for a CPS worker to gain entry into
the home.

The primary purpose of child abuse and neglect laws is the protection of
the child. The primary goal of CFSD intervention is to stabilize and
strengthen the family while providing protection for the child. If parents
have repeatedly failed treatment programs and continue to lack adequate
motivation or ability to protect their children, it may become necessary to
permanently remove the child from the home. Termination of parental
rights can only be ordered by the District Court. This ensures that the
legal rights of all parties are represented.

Termination of parental rights is the last resort after all previous efforts
to help the parents have been exhausted.

RECOGNIZING INDICATORS OF
CHILD MALTREATMENT

Educators are trained observers of children’s behaviors. They are
sensitive to the range of behaviors expected from children of a given age
group, and they are quick to notice behaviors that fall outside this range.
Particularly for the educator, behavior can often be a clue to the presence
of child abuse and neglect. Behavioral indicators may exist alone or may
accompany physical indicators. They range from subtle clues to graphic
statements by children that they have been maltreated.
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The presence of a single indicator does not prove that maltreatment
exists. However, the repeated presence of an indicator, the presence of
several indicators in combination, or the appearance of serious injury
should alert the educator to the possibility that child abuse or neglect
may be present and should be reported.

PHYSICAL NEGLECT

In Montana, physical neglect is the most common type of child
maltreatment. Physical neglect is either the failure to provide basic
necessities, including but not limited to appropriate and adequate
nutrition, protective shelter from the elements and appropriate clothing
related to weather conditions, or failure to provide cleanliness and
general supervision, or both, or exposing or allowing the child to be
exposed to an unreasonable physical or psychological risk to the child.

PSYCHOLOGICAL MALTREATMENT

Psychological abuse/neglect is also a common type of child
maltreatment in Montana. Psychological abuse or emotional
maltreatment is a pattern of psychologically destructive behavior that
may involve rejecting, terrorizing, isolating, ignoring and/or corrupting.
In most cases, it is the psychological consequences of the act that define
that act as being abusive.

While psychological maltreatment may occur alone, it is
important to understand that it is the primary issue in
the broader picture of abuse and neglect. It provides the
unifying theme and is the critical aspect in the
overwhelming majority of physical and sexual abuse and
neglect cases (Garbarino, Guttman and Seely, 1986).

Per statute, Psychological abuse or neglect means - severe maltreatment
through acts or omissions that is injurious to the child’s intellectual, or
psychological capacity to function, and that is identified as psychological
abuse or neglect by a licensed psychologist, a licensed professional
counselor, a licensed clinical social worker, a licensed psychiatrist, a
licensed pediatrician, or a licensed advanced practice registered nurse
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with a focused practice in psychiatry. The term includes but is not
limited to the commission of acts of violence against another person
residing in the child’s home. The term may not be construed to hold a
victim responsible for failing to prevent the crime against the victim.

Psychological abuse is the repeated action on the part of parents or others
that belittles the child, makes the child fearful and stops the healthy
developmental and or socio-emotional growth of a child.

The behavior of psychologically maltreated and emotionally disturbed
children can be similar. However, the parents of an emotionally disturbed
child generally accept the existence of the issue. They are usually
concerned about the child’s welfare and are actively seeking help. On the
other hand, the parents of a psychologically maltreated child may blame
the child for the problem (or ignore its existence), may refuse offers of
help, and are generally unconcerned about the child’s welfare.

PHYSICAL ABUSE

Another common type of child maltreatment in Montana is physical
abuse. Physical abuse can be an intentional act, an intentional omission, or
gross negligence resulting in substantial skin bruising, internal bleeding,
substantial injury to skin, subdural hematoma, burns, bone fractures,
extreme pain, permanent or temporary disfigurement, impairment of any
bodily organ or function, or death.

SEXUAL ABUSE

Sexual abuse of children is the fourth most common type of child
maltreatment in Montana. The statutory definitions of sexual abuse and
sexual exploitation involving children are as follows:

Definitions of Sexual Abuse taken from MCA 41-3-102
"Sexual abuse" means the commission of sexual assault, sexual
intercourse without consent, aggravated sexual intercourse without
consent, indecent exposure, sexual abuse, ritual abuse of a minor, or
incest, as described in Title 45, chapter 5.
Sexual abuse does not include any necessary touching of an infant’s
or toddler’s genital area while attending to the sanitary or health care
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needs of that infant or toddler by a parent or other person responsible
for the child’s welfare.

“Sexual exploitation” means allowing, permitting, or encouraging a
child to engage in a prostitution offense, as described in 45-5-601
through 45-5-603; or allowing, permitting, or encouraging sexual
abuse of children as described in 45-5-625; or allowing, permitting,
or encouraging sexual servitude as described in 45-5-704 or 45-5-
705.

The Child and Family Services Division is responsible for the
investigation of abuse or neglect caused by a parent or legal guardian
responsible for the child’s welfare. Law enforcement is responsible for
the investigation of all other abuse and neglect cases. Child sexual
abuse must be reported immediately to the Montana Child Abuse
Hotline, 1-866-820-5437.

Sexual activity between children can constitute sexual abuse when there
are differences in age or developmental levels, coercion and/or lack of
mutuality, or when one child takes advantage of another. Sexual abuse
involves forcing, tricking, bribing, threatening, or pressuring a child into
sexual awareness or activity and occurs when an older or more
knowledgeable child or adult uses a child for sexual pleasure.

DISTINGUISHING ABUSE FROM ACCIDENT

The following information is provided to assist school personnel in
identifying possible abuse; however, the statute requires that you
must report if you have reasonable cause to suspect that a child has
been abused or neglected.

The very nature of childhood invites accidents. Children are curious and
fearless. They run, climb, jump, and explore. A young child’s motor
skills may outpace his cognitive skills allowing him to approach danger
without recognizing it. How may school personnel distinguish the non-
accidental injury caused by a maltreating adult?

When observing injuries, please consider the following:
e Where is the injury? Certain locations on the body are more likely
to sustain accidental injury: knees, elbows, shins, the forehead are
all parts of the body that can be injured during an accidental fall or
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bump. Protected or non-protuberant parts of the body such as the
back, thighs, genital area, buttocks, back of the legs or face, are less
likely to accidentally come into contact with objects which could
cause injury. For example, bruised knees and shins on a toddler are
likely to be the result of normal age-related activity; bruises on the
lower back are less likely to have been inflicted non-accidentally.
How many injuries does the child have? Are there several injuries
occurring at one time or over a period of time? The greater the
number of injuries, the greater the cause for concern. Unless
involved in a serious accident, a child is not likely to sustain a
number of different injuries accidentally. Injuries in different stages
of healing can suggest a chronological pattern of occurrence.

What is the size and shape of the injury? Many non-accidental
injuries are inflicted with familiar objects: a stick, a board, a belt, a
hairbrush. The marks that result bear strong resemblance to the
object used. For example, welts caused by beating a child with an
electrical cord might be loop-shaped; a belt might cause bruises in
the shape of the buckle. Accidental marks resulting from bumps and
falls usually have no defined shape.

Does the description of how the injury occurred seem likely? If
an injury is accidental, there should be a reasonable explanation of
how it happened which is consistent with its severity, type, and
location. When the description of how the injury occurred and the
appearance of the injury do not seem related, there is cause for
concern.

Is the injury consistent with the child’s developmental
capabilities? As a child grows and gains new skills, he increases
his ability to engage in activities which can cause injury. A toddler
trying to run is likely to suffer bruised knees and a bump on the
head before the skill is perfected. He is less likely to suffer a broken
arm than is an eight-year-old who has discovered the joy of
climbing trees. A two-week-old infant does not have the movement
capability to self-inflect a bruise. Accidents do happen. Parents are
not perfect. Injuries occur that may have been avoided. Still,
accidents of this nature should not happen repeatedly.
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WHAT IF A CHILD TELLS YOU ABOUT ABUSE

OR NEGLECT?

There may be a time when a child or adolescent tells you, openly or
indirectly, about abuse or neglect in his or her family. Recognize the
strength the child has demonstrated by sharing this, and honor the trust
shown by choosing you as a confidant. Although it may be a difficult
subject to discuss, it is important that you handle the disclosure with
sensitivity.

These general guidelines may help:

Do not promise to not tell. Know your limits. This is not a situation
you can handle by yourself.

Tell the truth. Don't make promises you can't keep, particularly
relating to secrecy, court involvement, placement, and caseworker
decisions. After abuse or neglect has been disclosed, there may be
actions taken over which neither you nor the child has control.
Listen to what is being told to you. Do not project or assume
anything. Do not push the child to share more than he or she is
willing.

Be supportive. Remember why the child came to you. The child
needs your help, support, and guidance.

Reassure the child that he or she has done the right thing by telling
you. Acknowledge the difficulty of the decision and the personal
strength shown in making this choice. Make it clear that the abuse
or neglect is not the child’s fault.

Keep your own feelings under control. Be calm and nonjudgmental.
Do not express emotions such as shock, embarrassment, anger, or
disgust. Do not criticize or belittle the child's family.

Use the child’s own vocabulary. The child may relate the abuse or
neglect to you using family terminology. Do not try to substitute
more polite or correct words.

Let the child know that talking about the abuse or neglect was the
right thing to do.

Report the maltreatment to the Child Abuse Hotline, 1-866-820-
5437 as soon as possible.
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SUPPORT FOR CHILDREN AND THEIR
FAMILIES

After the reporting of abuse or neglect, children's lives may be filled with
stress, leaving children unsure about trusting the consistency promised
by anyone with whom they may be involved. Sensitivity to the need of
children for consistency is vital. To alleviate stress, school personnel
should provide support, caring, consistency, and stability to these
children. If asked, most CFSD CPS workers will work with school
personnel to let them know when a case is going to court.

Another issue that may be part of children’s lives is that of court
involvement. Courts often present a scary image for children. Children
who know their case is coming to court often feel agitated, anxious, and
insecure. Helping children deal with their feelings about their families'
court involvement involves three steps for school personnel:

e cducation about the court process;

e sensitivity to an individual child’s experience; and

e knowing when cases are going to court could help the educator

anticipate and be sensitive to children's feelings.

Effective July 1, 2007, Montana Code Annotated §41-3-445 requires
that district court judges or the entity conducting the permanency
hearing consult with the child about the permanency plan for the child in
an age-appropriate manner. This statutory change was needed to comply
with new federal requirements. Child protection staff may need to assist
in arranging for a child to attend the permanency hearing if required by
the court and prepare the child for this event.

Part of the court process may include placing children in foster homes or
with safe family members if the child’s CPS worker believes that the
children will be unsafe at home. Separation from parents, no matter how
abusive or neglectful, has a profound impact on children. When
appropriate and possible, CFSD will attempt to place children in the
same school system to provide some consistency.

Because the foster parents or the kinship family are providing care for
children, the school should attempt to work closely with these families.
The school’s intent and that of the foster/kinship family are identical;
therefore the two working together on behalf of the children increases the
children’s ability to cope. In addition, educators need to be sensitive to
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children’s needs when they are in foster care. For example, children may
need to know that people do not see them differently or that their
biological families are not “bad”.

Parents involved with the Child and Family Services Division
may be lonely, isolated, and may experience periods of great
personal and/or family stress. Many schools are now
providing programs and services that reach out to these
parents and may directly support and benefit them.
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APPENDIX A

Recommendation for Reporting Child Abuse and
Neglect and When Abuse of a Student Occurs at School

A. The following basic information should be clearly defined in all
school/district policies and procedures for reporting cases of child abuse
or neglect:

1. A statement indicating school board and school district
support for reporting child abuse and neglect:
The Board of Trustees, recognizing the harmful effects of child abuse
and neglect, does hereby emphatically and enthusiastically support
those sections of Montana law concerned with the reporting of
suspected cases of child abuse and neglect.

2. Who specifically is mandated to report by law?
Realizing the seriousness of child abuse and neglect, this Board
requires compliance with this law by all schoolteachers, school

officials and other employees who work during regular school hours.
(Section 41-3-201, MCA.)

Any of the above-named employees who fail to report to the Child
and Family Services known or suspected cases of child abuse or
neglect, or who prevent another person from reasonably doing so,
may be held civilly liable for the damages proximately caused by
such failure or prevention and is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(Section 41-3-207, MCA.)

3. A brief rationale for involving school personnel in reporting:
Abused and neglected children are among the most difficult to reach
in the classroom. They frequently learn the least while demanding a
considerable share of our educational resources. If we can break the
cycle of abuse, we can have a more teachable student in our
classroom-and a more productive individual in our society.

4. The name and appropriate section numbers of the state
reporting statute; immunity from civil liability and criminal
penalty for those who report confidentiality of records
pertaining to reports of suspected abuse or neglect:
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Montana laws pertaining to reporting and investigating child abuse
and neglect are found in Title 41, Chapter 3, Part 2, MCA. This law
provides that all records concerning the reporting of child abuse or
neglect are confidential and grants immunity from any liability,
civil or criminal, that might otherwise be incurred or imposed,
unless the person acted in bad faith or with malicious purpose.

5. The exact language of the law defining reportable conditions
(abuse and/or neglect). If necessary, explain and clarify the
state definition (Section 41-3-102, MCA.):
(6) “Child” or “youth” means any person under 18 years of age.
(7) (a) “Child abuse or neglect” means:
(i) actual physical or psychological harm to a child;
(ii) substantial risk of physical or psychological harm to a child; or
(iii) abandonment.
(b) (i) The term includes:
(4) actual physical or psychological harm to a child or substantial
risk of physical or psychological harm to a child by the acts or
omissions of a person responsible for the child’s welfare; or
(B) exposing a child to the criminal distribution of dangerous
drugs, as prohibited by 45-9-101, the criminal production or
manufacture of dangerous drugs, as prohibited by 45-9-110, or the
operation of an unlawful clandestine laboratory, as prohibited by
45-9-132.
(C) any form of child sex trafficking or human trafficking.
(ii) For the purposes of this subsection (7), “dangerous drugs”
means the compounds and substances described as dangerous
drugs in Schedules I through 1V in Title 50, chapter 32, part 2.
(c) In proceedings under this chapter in which the federal Indian
Child Welfare Act is applicable, this term has the same meaning as
“serious emotional or physical damage to the child” as used in 25
U.S.C. 1912(f).
(d) The term does not include: (i) self-defense, defense of others, or
action taken to prevent the child from self-harm that does not
constitute physical or psychological harm to a child; or (ii) a youth
not receiving supervision solely because of parental inability to
control the youth’s behavior.

6. The person or agency to receive reports:
When a teacher, school official or other employee who works
during regular school hours suspects child abuse or neglect, that
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person must promptly notify the 24 hour/7 days a week Child
Abuse Hotline.

7. The information requested of the reporter (if known):
(a) the names and addresses of the child and his or her parents or
other persons responsible for his or her care;
(b) to the extent known, the child’s age, the nature and extent of the
child’s injuries including any evidence of previous injuries;
(c) any other information the reporter believes might be helpful in
establishing the cause of the injuries or showing the willful neglect
and the identity of the person or persons responsible; and
(d) the facts that led the person reporting to believe that the child
has suffered injury or injuries or willful neglect.

B. In addition, school districts may want to include in their
reporting policies and procedures such additional information as:

1. the action that will be taken by the school board for failure to
report;

2. the role of the schools in multi-disciplinary community efforts to
provide service to abused and neglected children and their families;
3. the schools’ role in providing parent training, public awareness
programs or other activities devoted to preventing child abuse and
neglect; and

4. other community resources the schools can draw on in responding
to child abuse or neglect cases.

8. What is the legal obligation of teachers to report child abuse
or neglect (mandatory reporting) vs. a mandatory reporter’s
legal obligation to report teacher-on-student excessive corporal
punishment/assault/sexual misconduct?
Teachers and school personnel are mandatory reporters in that they
are required to report if they have “reasonable cause to suspect”,
based on information they received in their professional capacity, that
a child may be abused or neglected, even if they know the alleged
abuser is not a caregiver.

9. Further clarification to define the role of CFSD in this

situation.
CFSD takes calls about possible child abuse and neglect. CFSD does
provide information to callers to contact law enforcement after
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assessing the report is not one where a “‘person responsible for a
child’s welfare” is the alleged perpetrator and, therefore, not a child
protective services matter. Calls about abused or neglected children,
where the alleged perpetrator is not a “person responsible for a
child’s welfare” are considered “third party” reports. In these
situations the role of the child abuse hotline is one of referral and
agency assistance. The hotline staff may refer the caller to law
enforcement when the call is assessed to not be a child protective
services matter and may involve possible criminal activity.

APPENDIX B

CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES
DIVISION OFFICES

If school personnel have questions about the Child and Family Services
Division/DPHHS and its response to a child abuse and neglect case,
contact the CPS worker involved or his or her supervisor. Further
concerns should be directed to the regional administrator for your area.

CHILD and FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION (DPHHS) 841-2400
PO Box 8005, 111 No. Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59604-8005

1. EASTERN REGIONAL OFFICE - Miles City 234-1385
708 Palmer, PO Box 880, Miles City 59301

2. NORTH CENTRAL REGIONAL OFFICE - Great Falls 727-7746
2300 12th Ave. S., Suite #211, Great Falls 59405

3. SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL OFFICE — Billings 657-3120
2525 Fourth Ave. N., Suite #309, Billings 59101

4. SOUTHWEST REGIONAL OFFICE — Helena 444-2030
111 No. Last Chance Gulch, Helena 59601

5. WESTERN REGIONAL OFFICE — Missoula 523-4100
2677 Palmer, Suite 300, Missoula 59808

6. NORTH WESTERN REGIONAL OFFICE — Kalispell ~ 300-7418
121 Financial Drive, Suite C, Kalispell 59901
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CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES ~ LOCAL OFFICES

No.

[a—

11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.

21.
22.

23.

24.

25.
26.

County

Beaverhead

Big Horn
Blaine
Response Office
Broadwater
Response office
Carbon

Carter

Response office
Cascade
Chouteau
Response Office
Custer

Daniels
Response office
Dawson

Deer Lodge
Fallon
Response Office
Fergus

Flathead
Gallatin
Garfield
Response office
Glacier
Response Office
Golden Valley
Response office
Granite
Response Office
Hill

Jefferson
Response Office
Jefferson
Response Office
Judith Basin
Response office
Lake

Lewis & Clark

City

Dillon

Hardin

Chinook

Hill Co., Havre
Townsend

Lewis & Clark Co., Helena
Red Lodge

Ekalaka

Custer Co., Miles City
Great Falls

Fort Benton

Hill Co., Havre

Miles City

Scobey

Sidney

Glendive

Anaconda

Baker

Custer Co., Miles City
Lewistown

Kalispell

Bozeman

Jordan

Custer Co., Miles City
Cut Bank

Pondera Co., Conrad
Ryegate

Fergus Co., Roundup
Philipsburg

Missoula Co., Missoula
Havre

Boulder

Lewis & Clark Co., Helena
Whitehall

Silver Bow

Stanford

Fergus Co., Lewistown
Polson

Helena
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683-3793
665-4164
808-7360
444-2030

446-3729
234-1385

727-7746
808-7360

234-1385
433-1903

377-4963
563-7051
234-1385
708-7081
300-7418
585-9984
234-1385
873-5534
708-7081
523-4100

808-7360
444-2030

496-4950

708-7081

883-7850
444-2030



27.

28.
29.

30.

31.

32.

33.
34.

35
36.

37.

38.
39.

40.
41.
42.
43.
44.
45.
46.
47.

48.
49.

50.

51.

County

Liberty
Response office
Lincoln
Madison
Response Office
McCone
Response office
Meagher
Response Office
Mineral
Response Office
Missoula
Musselshell
Response Office
Park

Petroleum
Response office
Phillips
Response office
Pondera
Powder River
Response office
Powell
Response Office
Prairie
Response office
Ravalli
Richland
Roosevelt
Rosebud
Sanders
Sheridan
Response Office
Silver Bow
Stillwater
Response Office
Sweet Grass
Response Office
Teton

Response office

City

Chester

Hill Co., Havre

Libby

Virginia City

Gallatin Co., Bozeman
Circle

Richland Co., Sidney
White Sulphur Springs

Lewis & Clark Co., Helena

Superior

Missoula Co., Missoula
Missoula

Roundup

Fergus Co., Lewistown
Livingston

Winnett

Fergus Co., Lewistown
Malta

Valley Co., Glasgow
Conrad

Broadus

Custer Co., Miles City
Deer Lodge

Missoula Co., Missoula
Terry

Dawson Co., Glendive
Hamilton

Sidney

Wolf Point

Forsyth

Thompson Falls
Plentywood

Sidney

Butte

Columbus

Park Co., Livingston
Big Timber

Park Co., Livingston
Choteau

Pondera Co., Conrad
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808-7360

283-3011
585-9984

433-1903

444-2030

523-4100

523-4100
708-7081

222-7402
708-7081

228-2108

278-5142
234-1385

523-4100
377-4963
363-1961
433-1903
653-3520
234-1385
382-3036
433-1903

496-4950
657-3120

222-7402

278-5142



No. County City Phone

52.  Toole Shelby 278-5142
Response office Pondera Co., Conrad

53. Treasure Hysham 234-1385
Response office Custer Co., Miles City

54.  Valley Glasgow 228-2108

55. Wheatland Harlowton 708-7081
Response office Fergus Co., Roundup

56.  Wibaux Wibaux 377-4963
Response office Dawson Co. Glendive

57.  Yellowstone Billings 657-3120

Please call the Child Abuse Hotline to make all
reports; it is a toll-free call, 1-866-820-5437.

APPENDIX C
RESOURCES

The Child and Family Services Division recommends that individuals
call their local Child and Family Services office for recommendations on
resources to address specific concerns about child abuse and neglect.
Developing communication and rapport with your local office will be
beneficial for children with protective service needs in the future. The
directory for local offices is in Appendix B.

Your local office offers training for prospective resource families for
foster care and adoption. Individuals may wish to receive further
education by taking this training and may make an informed decision to
become a licensed foster or adoptive parent. The training material
utilized by DPHHS for licensing foster and adoptive parents is “KCS -
Keeping Children Safe A Pre-service Training”. Some of the
information in this pamphlet is from KCS.

Information to help you learn about the child abuse laws and Children’s
Protective Services is available. The Montana Code Annotated (MCA)
may be found in the reference section of your county library. The
website for Montana Code Annotated is http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/
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Your local Child and Family Services’ office may be located
through the County Social Services Office number listed in the
county government section of the local telephone directory.

APPENDIX D

CHILD ABUSE & NEGLECT REPORT

REQUIREMENTS: FERPA & THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS
In 1974, the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974,
(FERPA) commonly referred to as FERPA, was enacted. The act protects
students’ rights to privacy and allows for the release of information
contained in education reports only with parental consent, with several
limited exceptions. Shortly after passage of the act, an issue was raised
whether teachers or other school authorities who are required by state
law to report suspected cases of child abuse and neglect would be
jeopardizing the school’s federal funding if they made such reports
without consent of a student’s parents.

This potential conflict between FERPA and state child abuse and neglect
reporting laws was raised by the Education Commission of the States’
Child Abuse and Neglect Project with the Secretary of the Department of
Health, Education and Welfare and the House Committee on Education
and Labor of the U.S. House of Representatives. It has been resolved
favorably from the point of view of child abuse and neglect authorities.

Reports based on information obtained from education records may be
disclosed without obtaining parental consent and without any liability in
the following instances of special concern to child abuse authorities:

(1) Reports to state and local authorities required under state reporting
laws passed prior to November 19, 1974, do not require parental consent
to be released. Montana is one of approximately 31 states that had child
abuse and reporting statutes requiring education personnel to report
suspected incidents prior to that date.

(2) A school may release personally identifiable information from
educations records to comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued
subpoena.

(3) HEW maintains that many reports of suspected incidents of child
abuse and neglect are made on the basis of the teacher’s personal
knowledge and observation which do not constitute education records.
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Since FERPA governs the release of information from educational
records, such reports can be made to child abuse authorities. Therefore,
FERPA should not represent a conflict to compliance with the reporting
requirements of most child abuse and neglect statutes.

APPENDIX E

Non-Discrimination Information
The Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, political ideas,
sex, age, marital status, physical or mental disability, or national origin. If
you believe you have been subjected to discrimination, contact the
DPHHS Human Resources Division at (406) 444-3136 or the Montana
Human Rights Bureau at (800)-542-0807, or relay service at 711.

APPENDIX F

Child and Family Services Division Website
For further information about Child and Family Services Division
programs, please refer to the CFSD website https://dphhs.mt.gov/cfsd.
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This handbook was printed with funding from a
federal Children’s Justice Act Grant. School
districts and others are granted permission to

reprint this booklet for the distribution to staff
or see it online at
https://dphhs.mt.gov/CFSD/CANPublications
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