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Re: Immunization Record Review for Child Care Facilities

The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services is working closely with local health jurisdictions in
improving immunization rates among Montana’s children. These efforts include working with child care facilities to
review immunization records to ensure children are compliant with state law. Below are guidelines to help you with the
process.

Child care providers need to allow the local public health department access to review all immunization records. Local
health departments should call the child care provider to set up a time and date for review in advance. If you are a STARS
participant and you need your Certificate of Excellence Certificate within a certain time frame, please contact your local
health department nurse to schedule a review based on the reporting time frame below:

Reporting Time Frame for Each Quarter:

Quarter Month Review Should Report Due to Certificate Mailed to
Be Conducted: Immunization Program | Facility By:
By:
1 January-March April 30 May 15
2 April-June July 30 August 15
3 July-September October 30 November 15
4 October-December January 30 February 15

Enforcement of incomplete immunization records: If you are a child care facility and the public health nurse finds
incomplete immunization record(s), the center’s director will be informed and given time to correct the non-compliance
issue and obtain the documentation to update the immunization record.

If the record(s) is not complete after this time, the public health nurse will formally notify the center director of this issue.
Additional time may be granted and the center director should be informed that non- compliance after this time may
result in the child being excluded from the facility.

Should the center director not comply with ensuring that the child is up to date according to Administrative Rule
Montana (A.R.M.) 37.95.140, the public health nurse may order the exclusion of the child from the facility, and may make
a formal referral to the Montana State Child Care Licensing Program.

For the Family and Group Facilities, where public health nurses are providing consulting services pertaining to
immunization, the same process will be followed except the Montana State Child Care Licensing Program may follow up

with the provider, and may order the exclusion of the child who does not have up-to-date immunization records.
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Varicella (chickenpox) Vaccine: Children that are 12 months of age or older can receive the varicella vaccine, also known
as the chickenpox vaccine. All children by 19 months of age must receive one dose of Varicella vaccine as required by
A.R.M. 37.95.140. If a parent indicates the child has had “chickenpox,” the parent will need to provide proof from a
health care provider or a lab test can be done to prove immunity. If the parent is not able to document that the child has
had chickenpox, the child will need to receive the varicella vaccination.

If you have a child who is greater than 19 months of age attending your child care facility and the parent cannot provide
documented immunity or the child has not received the varicella vaccine, these children are still required to have the
varicella vaccination.

ARM 37.95.184 (2-c) Health Habits: Every employee, volunteer, or resident at a child care facility must provide
documentation of complete measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR), immunizations and a tetanus and diphtheria (Td)
booster within the 10 years prior to commencing work, volunteering, or residing at the child care facility.

When your Td comes due, consider adding the pertussis (whooping cough) component to your Td shot. Pertussis can be
easily passed from an adult to an infant, who are most vulnerable to serious complications. State and local public health
officials strongly recommend and encourage all adults to consider getting the Tdap vaccine, which includes protection
against pertussis, in addition to Td.

Influenza vaccination is not a requirement for child care, however, The Centers for Disease Control and DPPHS highly
recommend that everyone greater than 6 months of age should receive the annual seasonal influenza vaccination. It is
especially important for those who provide care for infants.

State Immunization Information System: The Montana Immunization Information System (11S), also known as “imMTrax”
is a confidential, web-based, statewide computer system that provides secure access to immunization records for
authorized healthcare professionals. Only authorized healthcare professionals with a password can access the system.

If a child happens to move to another town in Montana or is seen by more than one health care provider, their
immunization record would be available and up to date, ensuring the continuity of care. This is a convenient way for
parents to maintain an important health record for their children.

The Montana Immunization Program has a Parent Information pamphlet for anyone interested in imMTrax. If you want

to hand out copies to parents that have a child attending your child care facility, contact the Immunization Program at
406-444-5580.

Please contact the Immunization Program if you have any questions — 444-5580 hhsiz@mt.gov.
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