SNAP 201-2
HOUSEHOLD COMPOSITION
Parental Control

Supersedes: FS 201-2 (08/01/01)
Reference: 7 CFR 273.1(a) and (b)
Overview:

Children under 22 years of age are automatically considered under parental control if living with a
natural, adoptive or step-parent. Children under 18 years of age living with household members other
than their natural, adoptive or step-parent must be evaluated for parental control before separate
household status can be given unless state law defines such person as an adult (i.e., emancipated).

EMANCIPATION:

A child under age 18 years of age is considered emancipated if he/she is free from parental authority. An
emancipated person has certain rights that minors normally do not have until they reach the age of
majority, such as the right to live independently, conduct their own financial affairs, enter into valid
contracts, and incur debts. Emancipation can be determined by a court.

NOTE: Under Montana law, marriage does not automatically result in emancipation. Montana law
states that a person under 18 years of age who lives with his/her parents is under their parental control
and is financially dependent on them so cannot be determined emancipated.

PARENTAL CONTROL:

An individual is considered to be under parental control if the individual under 18 years of age and lives
with another household member other than their natural, adoptive, or step-parent and:

1. verification is received from a parent/guardian or conservator living outside the household
stating their child (the minor individual) is dependent on the household member he/she is living
with; or,

2. amember of the SNAP household states the minor individual is dependent on the household
member he/ she is living with; or,



3. the eligibility staff member determines the minor individual is dependent on the household
member for financial support. EXCEPTION: State law has defined the individual as an adult (i.e.,
emancipation).

NOTE: Parental control must be evaluated even when the individual is living with his or her spouse
and/or child.
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