

SNAP 901-1 ISSUANCE SNAP Replacement Conditions

Supersedes: SNAP 901-1 (01/01/2017)

Reference: 7 CFR 274.6 (a)

Overview: When a participating household requests a replacement of SNAP benefits via their Montana Access EBT card, the eligibility staff member must evaluate the circumstances surrounding the request and determine whether a replacement is appropriate. The following condition(s) **must** exist before a replacement of benefits may be authorized.

REPORTED AFTER RECEIPT:

SNAP benefits may be replaced via the Montana Access EBT card if the participating household reports:

- 1. Food items purchased with the EBT card were destroyed resulting from a household misfortune or disaster such as food spoiled from a refrigerator or freezer not working due to a power outage or food items destroyed by a flood or fire. Replacement issuances shall be provided in the amount of the loss to the household, up to a maximum of one month's allotment, unless the issuance includes restored benefits which shall be replaced up to their full value.
- 2. Client phones Customer Service and reports their Montana Access EBT card as lost or stolen. The Customer Service desk fails to cancel the card, subsequently; someone other than the client uses the benefits.

RESTRICTIONS ON REPLACEMENT:

Replacement issuances shall be provided only if a household timely reports a loss orally or in writing. The report will be considered timely if it is made to the State agency within 10 days of the date food purchased with Program benefits is destroyed in a household misfortune. Prior to issuing a replacement, a member of the household must provide a signed statement attesting to the household's loss. A notice must be sent requesting the statement. The required statement may be mailed if the household member is unable to come into the office because of age, handicap or distance from the office and is unable to appoint an authorized representative.

NOTE: The household member can attest to the loss by telephone call to the PAHL <u>if the statement is recorded</u> and the link to the recording is documented in a case note.

If the signed statement or affidavit is not received within 10 days of the date of report, no replacement shall be made. If the 10th day falls on a weekend or holiday, and the statement is received the day after

the weekend or holiday, it shall be considered received timely. The signed statement or recorded telephone call shall be retained in the case record. It shall attest to the destruction of food purchased with the original issuance and the reason for the replacement. It shall also state that the household is aware of the penalties for intentional misrepresentation of the facts, including but not limited to, a charge of perjury for a false claim.

Revised Date: October 19, 2022