E-cigarettes & Marijuana

E-cigarettes are electronic devices that heat a liquid and produce an aerosol. E-cigarettes are most commonly used to deliver
nicotine; however, the devices can also be used to deliver marijuana and other drugs. Recreational marijuana was legalized for

sale in Montana January 1, 2021 and along with legalization came various restrictions to limit youth access and exposure to
marijuana products. Many of the restrictions do not apply to e-cigarette devices and, therefore, leave a large gap in exposure.

E-cigarettes Marijuana
Clean Indoor Air Act does not prohibit use Use is prohibited in all places where
in indoor public places and workplaces smoking is prohibited
The Montana Clean Indoor Air Act (CIAA) does not prohibit the use With the passage of recreational marijuana, the definition of
of e-cigarettes in indoor public places or workplaces. It is challenging "smoking" or "to smoke" under the Montana Clean Indoor Air Act
to tell if an individual is vaping nicotine or vaping marijuana. Vaping (CIAA) was amended to include the use of marijuana. Additionally,
nicotine is allowed under the CIAA, but vaping marijuana is not MCA 8§ 16-12-108 prohibits using marijuana or marijuana products in
allowed under MCA § 16-12-108, which prohibits use of marijuana a location where smoking tobacco is prohibited.

products in locations where smoking is prohibited. Eleven localities
in Montana have expanded their local CIAA protocol to prohibit e-
cigarette use of any form in indoor public places or workplaces.

Can be sold in stores that allow minors Individuals under 21 are not allowed in
E-cigarette products can be found in convenience stores, grocery marijuana businesses

stores, pharmacies and other retail environments that are open to all MCA § 16-12-207(b)(12) states, "A person under 21 years of age is

ages. There is no federal or state law that restricts the sale of e- : S . . .
; I, not permitted inside a marijuana business unless the person is a
cigarettes products to adult-only facilities. . N
registered cardholder.

Retailers have a nominal annual license Dispensaries have a substantial annual
fee of $20 license fee of $5,000

The Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products Retail License is $20 Annual marijuana dispensary fees are $5,000 per location.
annually.

E-cigarette products are not taxed at the Marijuana products are taxed at 20% of
state or federal level the retail price

While e-cigarettes are the most commonly used tobacco product MCA § 15-64-102 sets a 20% tax on the retail price of marijuana,
among youth, they remain untaxed in Montana. Thirty states tax e- marijuana products, and live marijuana plants for adult-use
cigarettes. Increasing the price of tobacco products is one of the dispensaries.

most effective methods to prevent youth initiation.

Current e-cigarette use among Montana Among Montana high school students
adults vs. Montana high school students who vaped in the last 12 months, 25%
used a vape product to deliver marijuana.
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Source: Montana Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, 2022; Montana Source: Montana Prevention Needs Assessment, unweighted data estimates
Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 2023. from 10th and 12th grade students, 2022.
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