
E-cigarettes & Marijuana

E-cigarettes are electronic devices that heat a liquid and produce an aerosol. E-cigarettes are most commonly used to deliver 
nicotine; however, the devices can also be used to deliver marijuana and other drugs. Recreational marijuana was legalized for 
sale in Montana January 1, 2021 and along with legalization came various restrictions to limit youth  access and exposure to 
marijuana products. Many of the restrictions do not apply to e-cigarette devices and, therefore, leave a large gap in exposure.

E-cigarettes

Clean Indoor Air Act does not prohibit use 

in indoor public places and workplaces

The Montana Clean Indoor Air Act (CIAA) does not prohibit the use 

of e-cigarettes in indoor public places or workplaces. It is challenging 

to tell if an individual is vaping nicotine or vaping marijuana. Vaping 

nicotine is allowed under the CIAA, but vaping marijuana is not 

allowed under MCA § 16-12-108, which prohibits use of marijuana 

products in locations where smoking is prohibited. Eleven localities 

in Montana have expanded their local CIAA protocol to prohibit e-

cigarette use of any form in indoor public places or workplaces. 

Can be sold in stores that allow minors

E-cigarette products can be found in convenience stores, grocery 

stores, pharmacies and other retail environments that are open to all 

ages. There is no federal or state law that restricts the sale of e-

cigarettes products to adult-only facilities. 

Retailers have a nominal annual license 

fee of $20

The Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products Retail License is $20 

annually. 

E-cigarette products are not taxed at the 

state or federal level

While e-cigarettes are the most commonly used tobacco product 

among youth, they remain untaxed in Montana. Thirty states tax e-

cigarettes. Increasing the price of tobacco products is one of the 

most effective methods to prevent youth initiation. 

Marijuana

Use is prohibited in all places where 

smoking is prohibited

With the passage of recreational marijuana, the definition of 

"smoking" or "to smoke" under the Montana Clean Indoor Air Act 

(CIAA) was amended to include the use of marijuana. Additionally, 

MCA § 16-12-108 prohibits using marijuana or marijuana products in 

a location where smoking tobacco is prohibited. 

Individuals under 21 are not allowed in 

marijuana businesses 

MCA § 16-12-207(b)(12) states, "A person under 21 years of age is 

not permitted inside a marijuana business unless the person is a 

registered cardholder."

Dispensaries have a substantial annual 

license fee of $5,000

Annual marijuana dispensary fees are $5,000 per location.

Marijuana products are taxed at 20% of 

the retail price

MCA § 15-64-102 sets a 20% tax on the retail price of marijuana, 

marijuana products, and live marijuana plants for adult-use 

dispensaries.

Among Montana high school students 
who vaped in the last 12 months, 25% 
used a vape product to deliver marijuana. 

Source: Montana Prevention Needs Assessment, unweighted data estimates 
from 10th and 12th grade students, 2022.  
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Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 2021.
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