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E-cigarettes are electronic devices that heat a liquid and produce an aerosol. E-cigarettes are most commonly used to deliver 
nicotine; however, the devices can also be used to deliver marijuana and other drugs. Recreational marijuana was legalized for 
sale in Montana January 1, 2021 and along with legalization came various restrictions to limit youth access and exposure to 
marijuana products. Many of the restrictions do not apply to e-cigarette devices and, therefore, leave a large gap in exposure. 

E-cigarettes 
Clean Indoor Air Act does not prohibit use  
in indoor public places and workplaces 

The Montana Clean Indoor Air Act (CIAA) does not prohibit the use  
of e-cigarettes in indoor public places or workplaces. It is challenging  
to tell if an individual is vaping nicotine or vaping marijuana. Vaping  
nicotine is allowed under the CIAA, but vaping marijuana is not 
allowed under MCA § 16-12-108, which prohibits use of marijuana 
products in locations where smoking is prohibited. Ten localities in  
Montana have expanded their local CIAA protocol to prohibit e-
cigarette use of any form in indoor public places or workplaces.  

Can be sold in stores that allow minors 
E-cigarette products can be found in convenience stores, grocery  
stores, pharmacies and other retail environments that are open to all  
ages. There is no federal or state law that restricts the sale of e-
cigarettes products to adult-only facilities.  

Retailers have a nominal annual license 
fee of $20

The Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products Retail License is $20  
annually.

E-cigarette products are not taxed at the  
state or federal level 

While e-cigarettes are the most commonly used tobacco product 
among youth, they remain untaxed in Montana. Thirty states tax e-
cigarettes. Increasing the price of tobacco products is one of the  
most effective methods to prevent youth initiation. 

Marijuana 
Use is prohibited in all places where  
smoking is prohibited 

With the passage of recreational marijuana, the definition of  
"smoking" or "to smoke" under the Montana Clean Indoor Air Act  
(CIAA) was amended to include the use of marijuana. Additionally, 
MCA § 16-12-108 prohibits using marijuana or marijuana products in 
a location where smoking tobacco is prohibited. 

Individuals under 21 are not allowed in  
marijuana businesses 
MCA § 16-12-207(b)(12) states, "A person under 21 years of age is 
not permitted inside a marijuana business unless the person is a 
registered cardholder." 

Dispensaries have a substantial annual 
license fee of $5,000 

Annual marijuana dispensary fees are $5,000 per location. 

Marijuana products are taxed at 20% of 
the retail price 

MCA § 15-64-102 sets a 20% tax on the retail price of marijuana, 
marijuana products, and live marijuana plants for adult-use 
dispensaries. 
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Source: Montana Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, 2023; Montana 
Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 2023. 

Current e-cigarette use among Montana 
adults vs. Montana high school students 
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Among Montana high school students 
who vaped in the last 12 months, 25% 
used a vape product to deliver marijuana. 

Source: Montana Prevention Needs Assessment, unweighted data estimates 
from 10th and 12th grade students, 2022. 
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