Montana Medical Marijuana Program
Important Notice: On 10/8/2019 Governor Bullock directed DPHHS to implement emergency administrative rules to address health concerns related to flavored vape products. Please click the link above for further information.
Additionally, a press release from the Governor's Office can be found by clicking here.
The Montana Medical Marijuana Act (MMA) has gone through extensive changes since it became law in 2004. The most recent changes occurred when the 2019 Legislature passed SB265 creating more detailed program regulations. Some of the provisions in the new law went into effect upon passage, May 3, 2019. Patients, providers, physicians and labs are encouraged to become familiar with the provisions of the new law.
- Temporary patient registry identification cards will be issued upon receipt of application.
- Temporary cards will be available starting 9/26/2019.
- Temporary cards will be issued automatically for new patients only.
- Expiration date will be set initially for 60 days, but this will automatically change to 5 business days after the date of application approval. We are currently processing applications in one day, so the temporary license will only be valid a short time in most cases. The five additional days after approval allows the patient to continue to purchase medicine while the card is in the mail.
- Temporary cards may be deactivated immediately if an application is returned for correction or denied.
- Valid photo ID is required to use the temporary card.
- Please see the sample card.
- Providers may not arrange or pay for a physician visit. This includes but is not limited to visits arranged through dispensaries, websites or social media sites.
- Patients will be untethered from providers on or before July 1, 2020. This means patients registered with a provider will be able to purchase medicine from any registered provider. Further updates will be posted here as they become available.
- There is an updated Physician Statement for Debilitating Condition for both adults and minors. The form has been updated to reflect changes in the law and must be used starting October 1, 2019. Legacy forms dated prior to October 1, 2019 will continue to be accepted and any patients currently enrolled will not need an updated form until/unless they apply for renewal. These updated forms are available now in the Cardholders and Physicians tabs below.
Please do not call to check your status prior to 30 days from the date we receive your application.
Complia & METRC Application Quick Guide for Providers