Trauma Facility Designation Info

Trauma Facility Designation is a process conducted by the EMS and Trauma Systems Section of the Department of Public Health and Human Services. The authority is provided for by Montana statute (Title 50, chapter 6, part 4, MCA) and rules adopted on July 28, 2006 Trauma Facility Resource Criteria.

Trauma Facility Designation Levels:

Regional Trauma Centers (RTC) - Capable of providing advanced trauma care for a region.

Area Trauma Hospital (ATH) - Capable of handling most trauma patients within their service area.

Community Trauma Facility (CTF) - Able to provide limited emergency and surgical coverage.

Trauma Receiving Facility (TRF) - Able to provide limited emergency care with no surgical coverage.

Montana Trauma Facility Designation Criteria

Designation Applications

Designation Review PI Tools