Public Health Meaningful Use

Public Health - Meaningful Use

The Center for Medicaid and Medicare’s (CMS) EHR Incentive Program, commonly known as Meaningful Use (MU), and the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) Quality Payment Program have expanded the use of Electronic Health Record (EHR) Systems and increased the ability for Eligible Hospitals, Critical Access Hospitals, Eligible Providers and Eligible Clinicians to efficiently report their public health data electronically through interoperable health information technology (HIT). See the left hand menu for links to key Meaningful Use information.

Important note about the continuation of the Meaningful Use program

Providers who have registered for the Medicaid EHR incentive program through 2016 can still attest to Meaningful Use and receive Medicaid EHR incentive payments through 2021.

The Medicare EHR incentive program has been combined with the Medicare provider quality reporting programs under the MACRA legislation. Eligible Clinicians are now reporting the Meaningful Use measures under the Medicare Quality Payment Program. Although there are some exemptions for this program, the Meaningful Use program is not over.

Check your individual or group eligibility on the QPP home page.


Limitations of Public Health Agencies Role in EHR-MU

Meaningful Use does NOT create a mandate for Public Health Agencies to:

  • Set or clarify MU standards. The standards have been created by the Office of the National Coordinator (ONC), and only ONC can interpret its intention in the standards
  • Certify providers as meeting any MU standard. ONC/CMS determine eligibility for incentive payments, and other providers are required to self-certify as having met ONC’s standards. Public Health’s role is maintaining public health registries and providing the Local Implementation Guide to delineate data exchange standards.
  • Adapt its public health registries to accommodate non-standard (i.e. other than HL7 2.5.1) Electronic Health Record (EHR) submissions. MU specifically requires that the EHR product be certified. However, certification alone does not guarantee successful interoperation. Public Health still has the responsibility to set the standards for data exchange to its registries in order to maintain the quality of the public health data.
  • Support the installation or configuration of any EHR. This is the vendor’s role.1

Declaration of Readiness

The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) has the capability to receive electronic messages to help facilities meet Meaningful Use.

DPHHS is participating in the following Public Health objectives for Stage 2, Modified Stage 2, and Stage 3 of Meaningful Use.


Core measures:

  • Immunizations
    • Submit electronic data to the immunization registry for eligible professionals (EP) and hospitals (EH) compliant with HL7 2.5.1 CDC Standards2
    • Ability to respond to bidirectional queries (QBP/RSP) starting on January 1, 20173
    • The capacity to receive NDC codes starting on January 1, 20173 (Note: CVX code will still be required)
    • Transport method(s) supported:
      • HTTPS POST
      • SOAP
    • CEHRT Editions accepted4: 2014 & 2015 CEHRT





  • Electronic Laboratory Reporting (ELR)
    • Provide electronic submission of reportable laboratory results (ELR) for eligible hospitals (EH) only.
  • Syndromic Surveillance
    • Submission of Emergency Department (ED) visits
      • EHs and Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs) with Emergency Departments may register
      • EPs may register only if emergency care (like an EH Emergency Department) is provided
    • Submission of other visit types (urgent care, inpatient, outpatient, etc)
      • Montana DPHHS is not ready to accept data from these types of visits
      • There are no plans to accept these visits during the 2018 calendar year
    • If you are unsure about whether your EP or CAH qualifies for an exclusion, you are encouraged to complete the Meaningful Use Registration (link below) to receive an individualized review of your clinic.

Menu measures:

  • Cancer Case Reporting
    • Identify and report cancer cases electronically to the Montana Central Tumor Registry for eligible professionals.

Registration of Intent
To register your intent with DPHHS, please click on the link below:

DPHHS Public Health Meaningful Use Registration

For more information, please e-mail