Commission Information

House Bill 872 establishes a commission to recommend to the governor how the $300 million investment is expended.  The commission will reserve time at each commission meeting for stakeholder engagement and public comment. Public participation is strongly encouraged.

Next HB 872 Commission Meeting
Friday, Sept 8, 2023, 9 a.m. – 6 p.m., State Capitol, Room 152

Frequently Asked Questions

The commission members were announced on July 17 and consist of the bill sponsor, three members appointed by the governor, and five legislators from committees outlined in House Bill 872.

The Behavioral Health System for Future Generations Commission members are as follows:

Rep. Bob Keenan, R-Bigfork; Charlie Brereton, Director, DPHHS; Patrick Maddison, CEO, Flathead Industries; Janet Lindow, Executive Director and Co-Founder, Rural Behavioral Health Institute; Rep. Michele Binkley, R-Hamilton; Rep. Mike Yakawich, R-Billings; Rep. Dave Fern, D-Whitefish; Sen. John Esp, R- Big Timber; and Sen. Ellie Boldman, D-Missoula.

The commission is charged with recommending to the governor how the $300 million investment is expended.

In addition to the governor, the commission will submit reports of its recommendations to the governor’s Office of Budget and Program Planning and to the legislative fiscal analyst. The reports must include one or more of the following:

  • initiatives that address behavioral health
  • initiatives that assist those with developmental disabilities
  • outcome measures, as defined in 2-15-2221
  • output measures, as defined in 2-15-2221
  • performance measures, as defined in 2-15-2221
  • the amount of funding required for the initiatives
  • Thursday, July 20, 2023
  • Friday, Sept 8, 2023
  • Friday, October 13, 2023
  • Friday, November 17, 2023
  • Thursday, January 11, 2024
  • Thursday, February 22, 2024
  • Thursday, April 4, 2024
  • Thursday, May 16, 2024
  • Thursday, June 27, 2024
  • Thursday August 8, 2024
  • Thursday, September 26, 2024
  • Thursday, November 7, 2024